Waterfall And Old Railroads | Norway

in #photography6 years ago

I got to walk inside of a pyrite mine..

Hello Steemit friends! How are you doing?

DSC01618-2.jpg

I love shooting waterfalls with a long exposure.

I did some photographing today. The weather was okay, not the best, but no rain. So since my fingers were itching to get out and take some pictures, I drove to a place called “Gruo”. This used to be a place where they did a lot of mining for Pyrite back in 1907-1968. This area is now a museum and many of the old buildings are still being maintained. It’s a really cool place actually. You can still see the old railroad leading in to the mountain.

DSC01535-2.jpg

This is the old elevator house (that white tall building) which were used to take the workers down under ground. It goes about 750 meters deep. Many of the mines are filled with water today.

DSC01550-2.jpg

These mines was a very important workplace for the people in Stord. About 150-400 workers used to work here. One winter during the 50’s a tragedy happened. 4 workers was killed when the elevator wires worn off and fell to the ground. I remember a boy in my class in elementary school telling me one of the workers was his grandfather.

I took a lot of pictures, and I've edited a few (many actually) of them, and I wanted to show you. I hope you like them!

DSC01495-2.jpg

DSC01503-2.jpg

Photographing old things with history are one of my favorites. These are the old wagons that they used to carry pyrite in through the mines. One day in 1968 they had to park these wagons for good, and they haven't been moved ever since. That's cool to think about.

DSC01512-2.jpg

DSC01563-2.jpg

DSC01578-2.jpg

DSC01605-2.jpg

DSC01611-2.jpg

This house was being used as a storage house for dynamite, which they used inside the mines to find pyrite. This house is not being maintained as you can see. After I shot this photo, the coolest thing happened. I started talking with a man who is volunteering at the mines, and he asked if I wanted a tour inside the mountain. And I was like "absolutely YES!"
DSC01620-2.jpg

He must have thought I was crazy or something, but I thought is was so cool. I didn't even know it was still in use, for a different purpose then pyrite mining of course. I thought it was dangerous, but it turns out it's being used for weddings, different tours, and they even bring kindergartens inside to show the children what it's like.

DSC01639-4.jpg

Just look a this place! People used to work here. Everyday for many years. By the way, we did not take the elevator, we walked on the railways leading in to the mountain.

DSC01626-2.jpg

I love how they have dressed up dolls to make them look like workers from that time.

DSC01629-2.jpg

We walked in to this huge cave, and he told me that someone had their wedding there last summer with an orchestra and 90 guests. Imagine getting married in a place like this!

DSC01630-2.jpg

Thank you so much for reading my post (or just looking at my photos), I really appreciate it! Leave me a comment if you have any questions or feedback.

Have an awesome day :)

Kristin.

Sort:  

Wow! You need to start selling some of these @kristinbr

Oh, thank you so much, @jacobh! Maybe I will someday :)

It is really a very beautiful place.
Especially the waterfalls like a dream.
I hope, one day I will be there too!

Thank you so much, @dilbilgici! :) I love shooting waterfalls!

i also love waterfalls with a long exposure and wondering which lens is used for this shot? by the awesome clicks

Thank you so much, @jacoboram! :) I used my Sony a6000 with the 16-50mm kit lens :)

Wow, just, WOW. These are amazing. Thanks for sharing. I enjoyed reading your musings :) I am following you now, I can't wait to see more of your work.

Oh, wow! You are too sweet! Thank you so much, @mamatalks! I really appreciate your comment. Definitely following you back! :) I'm glad you enjoyed my post. Have a nice day :)

Aw, thanks :) :) I am working on some more posts... might be a few days, ha ha, but I'll try to get something out soon. Life is crazy. See you around:)