Oh Hawaii I Love You! And Now I Love Surfing!

in #photography7 years ago

My wife and I went to Hawaii for the 1st time on our 10th anniversary in 2011. We went to the beautiful island of Maui. We loved it so much we go every year now with our daughter, and have also been to the islands of Oahu and Kauai. The north shore of Oahu has become the spot we feel connected. And hopefully that is where we can winter during retirement. :D

I always liked surfing, well watching it. But as a kid in the middle of Canada that meant re-watching the North Shore movie with Matt Adler and Laird Hamilton to get any resemblance of real surfing. So after our trip to Maui and having finally tried surfing, I found out that I could watch most of the pro surfing events on the internet. So I started to follow the ASP (Association of Surfing Professionals) now WSL (World Surf League) getting to know some of the surfers.

So what is the next trip? Billabong Pipe Masters at the Banzai Pipeline on the north shore of Oahu. The same contest in the movie I had watched so many years ago. It was a trip of a lifetime. We got to see everyone! My daughter was over the moon when she got her picture taken with a very young and now current world champion John John Florence.

Along with this I found out I like to shoot surf photos. My best ones seem to be of the surfers. So I decided I will start with a few from that 1st surf event.

IMG_5057.jpg

Current World Champion John John Florence

IMG_5582.jpg

3-Time World Champion Mick Fanning

IMG_1124.jpg

Me and 11-Time World Champion Kelly Slater

Thank you for reading. Please follow if you like the content.

Kyle

Sort:  

Congratulations @kylebottcher! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Congratulations @kylebottcher! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!