Toolik Field Station, Alaska 2017. Part 5: Ground Squirrels!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Somewhere between a gopher and a chipmunk, we get this.


IMG_0999.jpg
Unfortunately, I surprised this little guy who was pensively gazing out over the lake


Colloquially known as "sik-siks", these little rodents are just like your average grey squirrel, only twice as big and a little noisier!


IMG_0818.jpg


Toolik Field Station , Alaska 2017:

If this is your first time reading my blog, thanks for checking it out! I am at Toolik Field Station off of the Dalton Highway in Alaska. I am working on a longterm ecological research (LTER) project through Marine Biological Laboratory for the summer. I'm doing my best to post about all of the amazing things in the Low Arctic environment, I'd love it if you'd read along and commented!

Click on the links below to read older posts!


Cheers!

Past posts:

Part 1: Before I left, a little overview
Part 2: Just after arriving, featuring some great Dalton Highway and Brooks Range pics
Part 3: View from my room
Part 4: Trip to the Aufeis
IMG_0820.jpg

Sort:  

This post received a 1.1% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @kzollove! For more information, click here!

Totally worth it...

hehe sweet one :)