Grace of an Onion.

in #photographylast year

Chives

Screenshot 2022-11-21 at 10-00-38 Hive.png

image.png

could
be
sideways
photo-
graphy

or
maybe
the
camera
was held properly and the flowers just tended to
grow pointed to the side.

Let me present to you a surprise I found.

Many years ago I noticed how many good things I was throwing away. When I cook, I would need a little parsley or chive to sprinkle on the top of a dish, but the vegetable section would not sell just a sprinkle.

Screenshot 2022-11-21 at 10-02-21 Hive.png
chive flowers

So I chose some very fresh chives one day, the ones with a little bit of roots still attached.

chives.jpg
see the onion membrane opening up to give way to flowers.

IMG_20221121_100705.jpg

I soaked the whole chive plant in some water for a day until I saw root growth, then I planted the whole plant in some soil.

For many years now, I have been able to use the chives from this plant at will without having to overdo how much I use or worse, throw away an entire plant.
I take what I need and go on making dinner. No hard feelings

IMG_20221121_100734.jpg

Then one day, I noticed one of the leaves shooting up in the air. Most chive leaves get to fifteen inches or so and then the flop, but this one was more like a tulip stem. It was round and did not have the creases that would allow it to flop. It reached a height of almost four feet tall and then the tip changed shape and it opened.

IMG_20221121_100640.jpg

I had never seen onion flowers of any kind in my life. This was a new experience for me. White and green were expected, yes. But I never expected this kind of beauty. I hope I captured it well.


Originally posted on DClub Community Articles. Hive blog powered by ENGRAVE.

Sort:  

Congratulations @least! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 15000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!