Shooting Large format film for the first time! (+ Results)

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Before I start speaking about my experiences shoot medium format film for the first time, I would like to first and foremost state that I will be posting on here regularly from here on out. My break wasn't planned, nor was it my attention to leave for 3 months. But I'm ready now to share my findings and photographic experiences with you guys, so without further ado, let's talk about shooting large format shall we?

First things first, I'll give you guys a little introduction about how shooting large format came to be. For my Studio techniques class in Collage we got the assignment to photograph an object with different lighting setups to bring out different elements of the object (Descriptive, texture and abstract)

Shooting large format was challenging, but also fun at the same time. Al the different elements you can move and bend to create unique compositions or corrections slows you down, but also lets you think about what you want and how you're gonna do it.

For me personally, even after some setbacks, it was all worth it. The experience with all different analog formats really sparked my interest in shooting film, and you'll see more of my film work in the future! One problem with shooting with large format is that medium format looks small now :p even when I compare 8x10 with the 4x5, the negatives I've shot for this assignment , it's a night and day difference.

SHOOTING LARGE FORMAT:

All images where shot on FOMAPAN 100 sheet film, scanned using the epson V800 @2400PPI and cleaned up in photoshop.

THE RESULTS:

TC 2.jpg

Product (FOMAPAN 100)timeagitation
Pre-wash (20° tap water)2:00Constant agitation
T-Max Dev (1-4 dilution)7:50Agitated every 60sec
Stop bath (water)2:00Constant agitation
Fix6:00Agitated every 120 sec
Rinse20:00Running tap water (20°)
Wetting agent1:00/

TC 3.jpg

Product (FOMAPAN 100)timeagitation
Pre-wash (20° tap water)2:00Constant agitation
T-MAX DEV (1-4)7:50Agitated every 60sec
Stop bath (water)2:00Constant agitation
Fix6:00Agitated every 120 sec
Rinse20:00Running tap water (20°)
Wetting agent1:00/

TC I.jpg

Product (FOMAPAN 100)timeagitation
Pre-wash (20° tap water)2:00Constant agitation
T-MAX DEV (1+4)7:50Agitated every 60sec
Stop bath (water)2:00Constant agitation
Fix6:00Agitated every 120 sec
Rinse20:00Running tap water (20°)
Wetting agent1:00/

That concludes my post about my first experience on shooting medium format film, hope you liked it! :) If you have any questions or critiques, please do leave them in the comments below! I read all comments, and would appreciate feedback. You can also follow me on Instagram for more stuff like this! :)

Sort:  

Hello @lennertdirkx, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!