Birds of my garden #6 Halls Babbler

in #photography6 years ago

Probably my favourite avian visitor to the garden the halls babbler.

We have a family of halls babblers who've nested in one of the trees at the back of the garden for the past couple of years. It's fascinating to watch, as the whole group (I'd guess about 8 birds) all work as a team to raise the chicks in one nest. I'm guessing that the offspring from the year before all hang around and help their parents raise the next generation. I confess this is all guesswork however and I haven't heard of any other birds who have a similar breeding strategy. If anyone knows better than me feel free to elaborate in the comments.
I suspect (another guess) that the birds get their name because of there incessant chatter (babbling) to one another. They always appear to be in a group with at least one on "lookout duty" which makes getting close for a photo tricky. Hopefully as time goes on they'll learn to tolerate me more and I'll be able to get ever closer in search of a better photo.

If you like my photos please consider a upvote or a resteem.
Thanks for looking.

babbler 1.jpg

babblers 2.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @leonsilver42! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @leonsilver42! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!