The birds in my garden #1

in #photography6 years ago

Been a while since I posted anything (as usual) so I'm going to try and make an effort again.

I live in a beautiful part of the world (South East Queensland, Australia) and am lucky enough to have a large garden that attracts a wonderful variety of stunning birds. In an effort to keep some kind of regular posts going I'm planning to do a series of posts - each one featuring a photo(s) of a different bird.

This first post features a White Faced Heron (Ardea Novaechollandiae) which was taking a keen interest in my garden pond (or more specifically the fish in it!)
I confess that after I took this photo I threw the closest thing to hand at him, one of my sons wet suit booties, which made him fly off squawking at me. If I'm honest I'm in no hurry to see him visit the garden again, unfortunately I've seen him since, lurking on the fence line looking suspicious.

heron1.jpg