Adventures in Florida #12: Rescued Raptors at Largo Bird of Prey Center

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

The folks at this sanctuary give a HOOT about raptors in need



I can honestly say I've been brimming with anticipation to visit this raptor rescue since I setup the interview a couple weeks ago. The good folks here care for many different birds of prey that have been injured, abandoned or any other reason why they may not be able to be released back into the wild. I love photographing birds, but owls have always been a favorite of mine. I had a huge grin on my face when I walked in the door and met their official greeter!

Lucy is an Eastern Screech Owl and she is so tiny! She had fallen out of her nest when she was a baby and her mother abandoned her. A couple found her and tried to keep her as a pet but soon realized they were in over their head so they handed her over to the sanctuary.

Another reason some of these birds cannot be released back into the wild is due to imprinting. Meaning that they became desensitized to human presence after having sustained contact with them at a young age.
Today I also learned that Pinellas County Florida is home to the world's largest population of Eastern Screech Owls. They are here in such large numbers due to an abundance of their absolutely favorite food....palmetto bugs. If you're not familiar with what those are, they are basically roaches on steroids and they are all over the place down here.


I think I woke this guy up from a nap or something!

I also learned another interesting fact about owls today. You can tell what time of day they typically feed by the color of their eyes! Species with dark brown or black eyes like the Barred Owl pictured above are night-time hunters. Other species with orange colored eyes usually hunt during dusk and dawn. Owls with light and yellow colored eyes are daytime hunters like this Great Horned Owl pictured below.

Owls aren't the only feathered friends in need of care at the sanctuary. They also have a variety of falcons, eagles and hawks they care for on a daily basis. This Bald Eagle is named Sarge and he found his way here due a broken wing that never healed right.

This Red-Shouldered Hawk is missing an eye, believed to be an injury sustained while he was hunting.

Here you can see one of the staff members spraying down a Red-Tailed Hawk with water to cool him off. It was around 99 degrees today with some heavy humidity to boot.

This American Kestrel is a smaller sized species of falcon that can frequently be found sitting on telephone wire lines all over Florida.

I must've done something to ruffle this little guys feathers!

They also have an awesome program to help military veterans. Any veteran is welcome to come to the park and spend some time with one of their therapy birds. They take the birds out for walks around the property and it has proven to be a very successful program. Most people think of dogs when it comes to therapy animals but the program they have started here is getting great reviews from all over the place.

Thanks for joining me on this adventure, I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did!
"Say hello to my little friend!" ~ until next time..

all photos captured with Canon 80D/18-135mm

Please upvote & resteem if you enjoyed this post!

In case you missed the last post in this series you can see it here: Adventures in Florida #11: Flounder Fishing on the St. John's River

follow me @liberty-minded

Minnows UNITE!

Sort:  

I love visiting animal sanctuaries. The work that they do is so vital. Your owl photos are gorgeous, though it's hard to take bad photos with such photogenic subjects! :)

Thanks for the kind words @jenncapestany!

Great photography and post and a great cause!

cheers @whitedolphin, thanks for swimming by!

I sent you a little splash with my flipper! :) I invite you to peruse my sea waters on Steemit! https://steemit.com/@whitedolphin

Great photos, particularly the owls! They are great subjects, but difficult to find in the wild. At least, I find them to be!

I thought you might appreciate this one :-)

McMillanMEOS_1835_20160223_14-50.jpg
Baby owl at Oxbow Nature Center, Rochester, MN USA

awesome shot @fotosdenada, thanks for stopping by!

Owls may not talk. But they see everything. ;)

coolest birds around in my opinion

i like your post

I had a owl living in my backyard for a long time. They are really cool creatures. But do scare the heck out of you when you don't expect them on the patio.

Lol, yes. I had a big barred owl fly up on a window sill while I was looking out it one night...scared the crap outta me!

I like those little kestrels, I haven't seen one in a while. Great photos, thanks for sharing.

Thanks for stopping by @therealpaul!

Great post, I'm glad I did stop by!

The photo quality is awesome :-)

Cheers @mcsvi, excited you like 'em

Oh my gosh! These photos are amazing!! I love owls of all shapes and sizes. I would have been like a kid in a candy shop if I'd been there! I'm going to follow you in hopes of more of these amazing posts! (I'm new, I hope that's how it works. Lol)

Welcome aboard the Steem train @missmindy! Believe me I was like a kid in a candy shop there, you can see other posts in this series on my page.

Thank you! And awesome! I'm learning as I go, I'll try and look around your posts! 😊

That's a cool place. Thank you for sharing it with us. ^_^ Always nice to see the more compassionate sides of humanity.
And I'm glad there's something eating those palmetto bugs!

You're welcome @pegasusphysics, they really do take great care of the birds there!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Liberty-Minded from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

@minnowsupport - how do I become a part of this group?