Photography blog #4 : Fun with a tilt-shift lens

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This was a really interesting and fun lens that I had the chance to work with for some time. It is what we would call a tilt-shift lens, featuring effects that are very unique yet applicable such as selective focus and perspective distortion. It has the ability to perform two separate motions. The rotation of the lens plane in relation to the image plane is known as tilt, and the movement of the lens parallel to the plane is shift.

As you can see with this image of a parking garage, I used selective focus on the glass encased staircase to achieve a miniature effect that I now enjoy to a great degree. However it is unfortunate that this lens was borrowed and It is not currently in my gear set. I have under twenty shots or so utilizing this technology and I do hope that sometime in the future I am able to obtain one of these of my own so I could spend much more time with it. I appreciate any questions, comments, or criticisms in regards to my photography. Take care.





[FULL RESOLUTION]

[http://tiny.cc/g5s4ly]
Sort:  

Followed you sir nice article hop u follow back and upvote my comment

Thanks man

Was it really black and white, or is this due to lens effects?

No the lens effect is simply the selective focus and distortion, the move to grayscale was a choice that I had made in post processing. This lens that I used was fully capable of color shots, the RAW data I captured contains all of the color information.

I love the shift-tilt lens! You can make people look like toys