Sort:  

No, it's not. The name of this soup contains two sibilants: Borshtsh. In Russian, tsh is a letter of its own.

Yes, I know how to write the word in Russian and you seem to know it too. And that's why you also know that there is no T in the word written in Russian. And that's why it is silent even though there is T when written in English.

Well, that's details. What we basically are talking about is the acoustic difference between 'ch' like in 'china' and sh like in 'shine'.
Yeah, Russian was my first foreign language (just like for any kid going to school in the former GDR in the 1980ies and the two or three decades before).

What's your first language then? :)

I'm bilingual myself. My mother tongue was first Russian but now Finnish is morr fluent as we moved here when I was a kid and I studied here almost all of my schools.

My mother tongue is German. Today my English is better than my Russian. I was not raised bilingual.

@lindiry I'm glad to hear it from someone else then, haha.😅