📷 Eyes of the flowers - Shot Technical Explanation

in #photography7 years ago

06092015-_MG_5734.jpg


Hello Steemians,

Today I want to show you a photo that I made to my girlfriend Chiara. It was a real impact photo and, in this post, I will tell you the technical aspect behind the shot.

The shot

Taking this photo was quite simple. I used a Canon 1200D with the lens Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II. These are the technical data of the photo:

  • ISO 100
  • f 2.5
  • shutter speed 1/250 sec
  • manual focus

Maybe the difficult part was the focusing due to the limited depth of field caused by the small f. I chosen to manual focusing this photo in order to have a perfect sharpness on the eyes.

Post-Production

Untitled-2.png

As you can see in the photo the shot taken as is, was quite "raw". I used for the post production Adobe Lightroom. As starting point, I have done a cut to accentuate the eyes and remove the shoulders.

Then I have filled the "hole" of the flowers. In order to do this, I have "copied and pasted" the pattern of the flowers taken by the shot. Easy but effective.

At that point I had a shot well balanced, in term of objects in the photo. But it still was "raw".

Then I have highlighted the eyes color, making the iris more vivid. After that, I have smoothed the skin and removed the imperfections.

And that's it. Now, with this simple explanation, you can take a photo like this.

I hope you enjoy the photo.

Se you to the next shot :)

Upvote and follow me if you like this post

Sort:  

Congratulations, wonderful shot :)

Great shot @lino. Love the intensity and the clarity of her eyes.

Perhaps I can entice you to bring your skills to the Collaborative Art Journey. Here's your invitation:
https://steemit.com/collaborativeartjourney/@everlove/invitation-collaborative-art-journey-tangled-webs-we-weave-this-is-your-invitation-to-collaborate-whatever-your-expression-bring

amazing eyes. She looks beautiful.

Nice explanation! Reds are hard to work with. If your white balance isn't exactly right, you end up laying with the color temp and tint sliders for ages. That f/1.8 version of the 50mm looks a lot sharper than my f/1.4 version.

I'm very satisfied of the quality of the 50mm f/1.8. With the manual focus it is almost perfect!

This post received a 1.5% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @lino! For more information, click here!

Nice work :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by biglio23 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.