📷 Nero and the Burning of Rome - Shot Technical Explanation

in #photography7 years ago (edited)


Today, I want to show you one of my favourite photo that I made into my city: Anzio.
I have used this photo in two of my precedent post, because is one of my favourite. Now I explain you how I made it.

The shot

This photo was made by a sequence of circumstances. First of all, in that day a forgot to bring with me the tripod, not a good situation since the light was quite low. I walked around in the city without the possibility to take a decent photo with my Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II. At that point I started to think out of the box. I tried to take the photo under-exposed voluntarily. Here you can see the technical data of the photo:

  • ISO 100
  • f/6.3
  • 29mm focal length
  • shutter speed 1/125 sec

Post-Production

anzio_pre_post.png

As you can see in the photo that was obviously under-exposed but had also a dead colors. I used for the post production Adobe Lightroom. In that case the main task of the post production was make the colors more vivid.

Since the photo was taken with the RAW format file, the informations about the colors was hidden inside it. I just had to extract the informations with the tools provided by Lightroom. In fact I slided up the saturation in order to make more vivid the colors and slided up the slided down the shadows in order to make more "black" the objects of the photo.

I hope you enjoy the photo and the exaplanation.

Se you to the next shot :)

Sort:  

well done, the difference is amazing!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by biglio23 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Really well done. Keep it up :)

It's a lovely shot and the info on how you created is really great as well. Post production is so important to make that great shot even better. I think I may try to write a post about some of the photoshop tricks I use regularly

Yeah, I'll follow you :)

bella

Grazie, sei italiana?