Crumble

in #photography5 years ago


The building that was never finished

What happened? The project ran out of money? Did someone change their mind? It was no longer necessary? Years and years it stood there. Unfinished. Tear it down someone said. What a waste of space and resources said the others. It will never tell the story of being finished and being appreciated. Instead, it tells a different story of hundred sunsets peeking through the empty windows and cracks in the ceiling. Edgy teens painting signs they barely understand on the walls or leave you a message plain and simple saying “fuck u!”. It tells you of how nature always claims back what is hers and about strange, old times where the design was about cheapness, simplicity, and functionality above everything else. Maybe it even tells a never written story of a zombie apocalypse and how that one winter the roof, right in the middle was not able to withstand the weight of snow any longer and collapsed.

Since running for me is prohibited (I still do, because I am a rule breaker), walking, cycling the big circle has become my new routine. The unfinished building has been part of my environment for as long as I can remember. One evening I was riding my bike and somehow looked with those eyes for the first time. You see, but you do not observe as Sherlock would say. The sunlight peeking through was inviting me to have a look inside. I decided to go back the next day with my camera for a little exploration.



You know the feeling when you do something you are not supposed to? A quick look around. No one seemed to be close by as I sneaked my way through the tall grass and found my entrance through what appeared to be door by the shape of it. After a few steps, I began to feel at ease and as if I had stepped into a place where time had frozen. The leaves of trees poking through the windows, scent of damp soil and echoes of my footsteps in the air. I love it here I thought while imagining how I would turn this into my habitat for the apocalypse or how cool it would be to paint something artsy on those walls. Perhaps, if it was in a bit better condition it could even be turned into something like an art gallery/garden. It surprised me a lot.





These massive window frames would make great raised bed gardens



What would you do to this place if you found yourself in the zombie apocalypse?



























That’s it this time! Hope you enjoyed! ^^

Song of the day: Health, Ghostemane - Judgment Night 

Sort:  

I'm quite late to comment here as I've been very busy, but I didn't want to miss this one because it's just the coolest post. I love everything about it. I love the photos, I love the words, I love that you saw this thing and just went inside because it was a thing that you wanted to do. And this:

I love it here I thought while imagining how I would turn this into my habitat for the apocalypse or how cool it would be to paint something artsy on those walls.

This just hits something for me. All my life I've had this inexplicable... I don't know what it is. It is like a trigger for excitement. Any time there is something just sitting around, or some place that is empty, you know.... it's so hard to explain. I just imagine going in there, claiming it as my own and setting up some kind of base of operations... it sets my mind on fire thinking of it. It's what made me love real-time strategy games like Command and Conquer when I was younger... the missions would have you going in with nothing but a mobile command centre and just start building a base in the middle of nowhere from the resources around. I absoutely loved Minecraft for years, for the same reason. It's so hard to describe; I wonder if you can understand the emotion I am trying to convey? It is something raw; something really really deep in my subconscious mind... I absolutely love that feeling... and those words of yours sent me straight to that state of mind as I read them. Thank you!

What would you do to this place if you found yourself in the zombie apocalypse?

Food will be essential, so the garden beds from the window frames are a great idea. What should be grown there? And we're going to have to close up those windows somehow. Way, way too many entrance points. Will need something sturdy. Wood won't cut it. More bricks? Metal from somewhere, melt it and make some crude window cage type things? Would there be time for that? Hopefully they're the nocturnal kind of zombies like in Minecraft, so that daytime can be for building and gathering supplies. Or at least, they'd better be the slow kind of zombies. Otherwise we're pretty screwed xD But, imagine if it could work out, just... standing on the roof of it maybe, staring out at the zombie hordes. Safe. Untouchable. Surviving :D

That was such an interesting post. The photography work is amazing. I agree that those window frames would make for some great raised garden beds. I'm not sure what I would do with it in a zombie apocalypse but it is definitely a good shell of a building. It really could be used for anything. Nice one!

Posted using Partiko Android

Aww thank you @leaky20 :) and thank you for taking time to comment!

I imagine somehow barricading the entrances and maybe some sharp sticks by the windows would do to secure it enough, garden downstairs and the living quarters the second floor haha

The place really has some interesting vibe and shame no one had thought of doing anything with it for so long.

Very cool old architecture. Man builds it and Mother Nature starts taking it back.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It is a typical Soviet time architecture. Most things resemble boxes to me from that time anyway.

Have you ever walked around and imagined places empty? No people? I sometimes do. I imagine nature would take back everything like that.

Really great shots of that ruined building ^^ I really like that close up of the rail you are showing early in the beginning ;)

You know the feeling when you do something you are not supposed to?

You get used to it! I do these all the time and some are really creepy. Best to take a friend, good shoes, gloves and a strong light.

Reminds my childhood in post soviet time with unfinished projects. Grow up in Eastern Europe. Would be interesting to know location of building.

Posted using Partiko iOS


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Hi @m31!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.503 which ranks you at #601 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 88 contributions, your post is ranked at #21.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post has been manually curated by PhotoStreem: The Photography Tribe!

banner 1.jpg

Congratulations, keep up the great work!

This is a dream to paint!! Where is this? Btw i love the pictures as always