Introduction to ME

in #photography7 years ago

Hey everyone, my name is Matthew Birch. I am 17 years old from Perth, Australia and I have a massive passion for adventure and content creation.

DSC_0459.jpg

I grew up on a grape farm in the middle of the bush, so a lot of my childhood was spent exploring where I lived. I spent a lot of my childhood exploring my surroundings, and when I was about 12 I started getting into parkour and freerunning, which has ultimately led me to where I am today.

Parkour and freerunning is all about expressing yourself through movement, whether that be flips, jumps, vaults or anything else you can think of. I trained hard for a solid 4 years, and naturally the sport helped to develop my adventurous side. All I wanted to do was explore new places and see the world for myself, not through a phone screen. It didn't take long for me to buy my first camera for documenting some of my experiences I had through both photo and video, and ever since 2014, I have been obsessed with creating content and documenting the things that I do that many others don't get to experience.

DSC_0116.jpg

Here's me watching the sunrise and eating breakfast from the top of a radio tower:
DSC_1165-2.jpg

I'll be honest, my passion for adventure and chasing 'the shot' has got me in trouble with the law, numerous times. Once, my mate and I filmed a video of us getting into an abandoned powerstation. We got onto the roof and climbed down on the edge of a 40m death drop to see one of the most exclusive and rewarding views I have ever seen.

DSC_0425.jpg

DSC_0508.jpg

Long story short, at the end of the video we made, there was a clip of me hanging onto a ladder. With one hand. On the edge of a 40m death drop. This shot of me dangling headlined across the prime time news on Perth's biggest news channels and resulted in me getting charged for trespass by the state of WA. Worth it though hahah

I have no idea where these passions will take me. What I do know is that I'm looking forward to sharing my content and experiences with you, and hopefully inspiring others to live life to the fullest.

  • Matthew
Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @matthewtbirch! :c)

A compelling story coupled with amazing captures of an adventurous lifestyle. I don't know where you'll end up next but I'm sure you'll make it look radical. ^_^

Of course... 'insert mandatory health caution here'. :cP

Since you're new here, a quick read through this post may prove helpful.

Appreciate it! Love your posts, very insightful!

WOA! Looking forward to seeing some of your vids, also that breakfast shot needs to be used in every cereal campaign ever- epic! Welcome to Steemit :)

Thanks a lot haha! I post a lot of videos on youtube if you were interested :)

Go for it! I think a lot of people would love to see that, just make sure you tell a story WITH the video instead of just dropping the link- Followed- lookinforward to it!

Haha that's the one! How did you find it? Unfortunately the police made me take the video down (I just put it on private) but yes that was one of the news segments. Good times and plenty more to come, followed :)

Hahaha. I just tried the appropriate keywords at google

Nice matthewtbirch. Thanks for sharing.

This post received a 4.8% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @cryptolife1! For more information, click here!

Wellcome to steemit

Welcome to Steem.com

Hi, Welcome to steemit. The biggest platform with the nice people.
I'm @pertiqoues, and I from #aceh , Sumatra Island.
I hope we can shared about our daily, nature, and country from where we are.
And ofcourse you can sharing what you like.
Glad to see you on steemit.
I hope you enjoy your time here.
Please follow me @pertiqoues if you interest about My post.
Thank you very much.

Welcome to steemit. followed and voted

Appreciate it! :)

Welcome to Steemit mate. Aussie land is so dear to me as I've stayed in down under for a long time, though I couldn't manage to visit Perth.

What you're up to is great, especially that you're doing what you enjoy and like doing. So keep it up and I encourage you to think of a way to monetize on it. Turn that passion into something you can cash in and you'll never work a single day :)

Follow me on @ahmad8 as I post on wide range of things but I make sure that content is always selective.

cheers, where abouts in Australia did you visit? I'll be sure to try monetize my stuff, you already know what my plan is ;) Followed!

I've stayed in Sydney the longest but managed to travel around to Melbourne, Brisbane and Tassie. My profile pic is actually in Bondi beach :)

All the best mate for the future.

Welcome to Steem @matthewtbirch I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Congratulations @matthewtbirch! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome! Awesome photos, hope you will enjoy it here:)

Thanks a lot! It looks like a great community :)

Welcome @matthewtbirch I am new here myself. Best of luck. I am a cryptocurrency enthusiast, a stock trader, a farmer, and work full time in a contact center. Please check my blog and follow me @steemitph if anything there interests you.

Thanks mate best of luck too! followed

welcome @Matthewtbirch to Steemit :) . I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me !

Wow! Love your sense of adventure, very brave. Please be careful though lol x

Nice, a new Steemian, more or less ^^ Welcome Matthewtbirch I hope you have fun here. don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @chrisx

Thanks mate will do ! :)

Welcome, I see you are hungry for adventure. Maybe you should check out my page. Follow4Follow, UpVote 4UpVote! @matthewtbirch

This post received a 1.6% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @ch00fy! For more information, click here!

Kindly stay alive and intact while you're getting up to mischief having fun thanks, child.

Welcome on board :)

Haha thanks ! Great posts :)

@matthewtbirch fab pics bro !!! lovein it ! what part of aus is the first pic from!

cheers bro first one is in Perth on the scitech roof !

Look good never been Australia. Haven't heard much about it eatheir only just about the kangaroos ! 😂

Welcome to steemit!!! you will enjoy this platform!! make sure you verify yourself with a picture and todays date! I provide steemit lessons for beginners and yummy food :) Alla xox

Thanks Alla, and will do! Followed :)

welcome to steemit family

Welcome to steemit. Cool pics and story.

We have a pretty strong Team Australia community going here on steemit to support each other. If you'd like to be part of it, then please check out this link: https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@choogirl/team-australia-new-recruits-update-14-07-17-get-your-lawn-bowls-on

Wellcome Steemit @Matthewtbirch
very nice images, i like
I love to join in steemit and to help each other
#voted and follow you
Do not forget to follow

A new Steemian :-) hello @matthewbirch I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, Wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Hi. You're obviously not short on adrenaline! I'd be too much of a wimp to do what you do, so hats off to you. Stay safe, though!

haha thanks and will do !

Dude, sweet photos, hope to see some more of your Parkour adventures

thanks man more stuff coming soon !

Congratulations @matthewtbirch!
Your post was mentioned in my hit parade in the following categories:

  • Comments - Ranked 8 with 50 comments
  • Pending payout - Ranked 7 with $ 46,22

I really appreciate authentic intro posts like this and I look forward to seeing more of your content in the future. Hoping we can connect and continue to evolve and learn from each other! Remember, be yourself, because nobody else does it better -- Full #Steem ahead @matthewbirch :)

Much ❤
@Tayken

Nice to meet you
I am @faisal25
I am new here.Follow me and I will surely follow you back.
And one more thing, upvote my posts for upvote back.

Welcome to Steemit! You will rock here! Followed. Follow me back 😘

I would like to wish you a warm welcome to the Steemit Community. We look forward to your posts and interacting as we build this community together. I upvoted you.

Welcome @matthewbirch to the Steemit Community! Hope you enjoy your journey as I have been :) Explore... Travel... Experience.. Live ... Steemit! Happy Steemiting. Be sure to follow and check out @lank .. I will follow you back.

Nice! I can relate, still working on my "crazy stunts" bucket list at 69. But, wish I was 17 and could start over. Favorite quote: "Rise before the dawn and seek adventure."-- Henry David Thoreau

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment