From my summer in Italy

in #photography7 years ago

Hi all,

Still working to figure out what is going to work best to get noticed in this community. I have seen a couple of my posts get some good responses and they usually contain my photography, so I am going to share that for a bit.

I used to be quite the Instagram lover, but have really gotten out of touch with it lately, I am striving to post photos in a place that appreciates the art, not the self-fulfilling ego boost. Still not sure if this is the place...but I got inspired to give it another shot by @sweetssj @rea and @wilku 's posts today.

Here is one of my favorite images of my summer in Italy. This was in a small town outside of the Cinque Terre. We stayed up on a hill and had to walk back and forth to the grocery and train every day. As a huge VW fan, this car spoke to me immediately. It was night when we first arrived and I laid my eyes on it, so I knew the next morning would be a perfect time to get out and snap a shot.

I shoot on an Olympus OM-10 on regular colour film. I find balancing colours and focus on a film camera a challenge, that I love. I am debating upgrading to a Sony a7, but for some reason can't bring myself to evolve past a film camera.

Anyways, here is the image; let me know what you think. Should I upgrade? Should I keep shooting film? Do you want to see more Italy?

Sort:  

Lovely photograph! You have a good eye :) you have my upvote and follow!

Thanks, I've been hoping to shoot some more film, thanks for the confidence boost!

how do you process your film? I guess scans from the negatives?
I've been shooting on film for 30 years, and still I don't see a reason to switch to digital. I do all the deveoloping & printing myself.

I would love to learn how to develop myself. I heard developing colour is super tough though. I am a chemistry teacher but have never had the balls to try it myself. Im too scared to ruin a roll. Is it much cheaper to do it yourself? I pay about 30$ to get them digitized at my local photo shop.

colour is quite easy. traditional perfect colour is extremely hard. artisitic-experimental colour is fun, easy and great ;)
Developing film is quite simple, only temperature /time is critical. If you can't keep ~38C for the standard 3.15 minutes developement (e.g. Tetenal chemistry), you can also do it at 20C for ~17 minutes. Results in a bit less contrast. All you need is a Jobo drum or alike.
DIY fil developing should cost about 4€/Roll, but you still need to print or scan your negatives.
Printing is more complex because you need an enlarger and a print processor (print chemistry also should be at 35-38C).
But as a chemistry teacher you might have some important knowledge: There is some substance one can add to the paper processing chemistry, that makes it possible to work at room temperature.
Anyways, there are simple an playful ways, and I am happy to help.

Interesting! Thanks for your advice.

Congratulations @mikecldi12! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow... I was just reviewing your application on smartsteem and then I saw this picture. Simply amazing and so underrated!

~ @therealwolf