Took a vacay from my vacay

in #photography7 years ago

I know I haven't updated anything for over a week now, but I went to our summer place last Monday and decided to stay away from all kind of social media and internet. Well, I did post a few pictures on my Snap story, but that barley counts. And I also watched the whole new season of Orange is the new black, but that's also okay... I think.

Anyway, I had a great week and came back to the city much more relaxed. I'm well aware of the fact that I don't have a job to go to right now and my life's supposed to be "easy", but there is so much stuff to do all the time and there is always someone who needs my help with something. So, I actually felt a bit stressed out before I took "a vacay from my vacay" as I like to call it.

Maybe you are wondering what I have been doing for almost a whole week? (Or maybe not, but I'm going to tell you anyway!)

IMG_6758.JPG

I took the bus to Taalintehdas on Monday. The bus takes about three hours from Helsinki, but it's totally worth it when you arrive and just can sit on the balcony and enjoy this view!

IMG_6754.JPG

It was not the best weather on Tuesday, but the fish don't care about that, so I bought myself a new fishing rod and went fishing!

IMG_6757.JPG

First I got this little one... Not a great success (as Borat probably would say).

IMG_6753.JPG

IMG_6755.JPG

Then I got lucky and suddenly I had a big bream for dinner. It was really good. I think it was the first time I ever ate one, but I was not disappointed.

IMG_6752.JPG

IMG_6759.JPG

Typical Finnish food during the summer. Different kind of fish and potatoes. At least that's what I like to eat.

IMG_6750.JPG

IMG_6749.JPG

Wednesday was one of the best days yet this summer! I met up with my cousin for a drink, then we went to visit his mom for some dessert and after that we enjoyed a few more drinks in the sun with some friends.

IMG_6748.JPG

IMG_6747.JPG

IMG_6751.JPG

We ended up in the local pub for some billiards and maybe a shot or two...

IMG_6746.JPG

The next morning I came here for a long swim. There is nothing better than a cooling dip in the water when you're slightly hangover.

IMG_6745.JPG

... And this is how I get around in the small village when I'm not borrowing my mom's car.

IMG_6744.JPG

Last photo from Taalintehdas. On Thursday evening we went out for a barbecue by the sea. I made the fire all by myself, and yes, I am proud of it! It took me just one match. On Friday I just took a short fishing trip and then I cleaned up in the apartment, and when my mom got there I took her car and drove back home to the city.

Saturday was also a really good day. First I drove to Porvoo for my brother's birthday party and after that I went to see some friends with my boyfriend. Pizza, drinks and chill. Perfect.

IMG_6725.JPG

IMG_6723.JPG

IMG_6724.JPG

IMG_6741.JPG

IMG_6722.JPG

IMG_6762.JPG

IMG_6763.JPG

IMG_6721.JPG

I think I could stay up and write so much more about this past week, but enough is enough. I didn't sleep that well last night, so I'm really looking forward going to bed! But first I have to go and pick up my sister from the studio. Btw, she will drop a new single after the summer (she's a singer/song-writer) and the song is AWESOME. But more about that when it's released.

Have a nice week everyone!

Sort:  

Looks like a great weekend to me! What was that drink with the flowers in the ice cubes(?). Looks delicious!

Yep! It's just normal apple cider, but those lilac flower-ice cubes makes it so much better even though it doesn't change the taste at all! :)

Did you make those cubes yourself? I might have to do this for my wife sometime when she makes ice tea, she would love them!

Staying away from social media including phones, laptop et al., can be a bit tough for some people. But you rock girl for doing just that and having fun all the way. I doubt if I can do this except in situations where I find myself without internet.
Look at that fish, I feel like grabbing it from you. lol.
No doubt you really enjoyed yourself dear beautiful @mimilia

Great post :) definitely looked like a fun trip

Thanks! It was great. Can't wait until I have the time to do something similar again :)