Gray Whales - Wildlife Photography

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This last March, my wife and I went to Loreto Bay in Baja California Sur, México. It was a family vacation and as you can image I packed all my photography gear, lol! Even though it was supposed to be a “vacation”, as a Nature Photographer I had to take advantage of the trip and bring some images for my portfolio :-)

In this post I’m sharing my favorite images from a whale watching tour we did in Puerto Adolfo López Mateos. I will also be posting some bird and landscape images from this trip soon.

Puerto Adolfo López Mateos is a fabulous site for gray whale watching. It is located in Comondú, Baja California Sur, México. The offshore barrier created by Isla Magdalena makes it a safe place for whales to give birth. In this first image you can see a mom and a baby that got close to our boat.

Mom and Baby Gray Whales

Mom and Baby.jpg

Canon EOS 6D, Canon EF100mm f/2.8L, 100mm, f/5.0, 1/1000s, ISO 100

I found very interesting that whales are so curious. They come close to the boats and stay with you for as long as they feel like it. If they don’t want to be near you they swim away. For this reason it is considered safe to get close to them but it is not allowed to harass them or chase them. In these next images you can see the mom checking us out and then the curious baby whale getting closer to our boat and looking for interaction.

Mom Checking Us Out

Gray Whale Closeup.jpg

Baby’s Mouth

Baby Gray Whale Mouth.jpg

Baby Whale Between Boats

Baby Gray Whale.jpg

Baby Whale Looking for Affection

Morgan and Whale.jpg

Since I knew we had a good chance of getting close to the whales, I wanted to capture their peaceful essence by getting a closeup of an eye. We were fortunate to spend enough time with this mom and baby to capture exactly what I envisioned, the innocent look of a baby gray whale emerging from the ocean. This is my favorite image from the tour and I named it “Innocence”.

Innocence

Innocence.jpg

Canon EOS 6D, Canon EF100mm f/2.8L, 100mm, f/5.0, 1/1000s, ISO 100

Image in High Resolution

As we were sailing back, we had another great moment. An adult gray whale was swimming parallel to our boat and started breaching a couple of times. This is what I call being at the right place at the right time. This tour was a great and unforgettable experience! We were also very lucky! :-)

Gray Whale Breaching

Breaching.jpg

Canon EOS 6D, Canon EF100mm f/2.8L, 100mm, f/5.6, 1/1000s, ISO 100

Thanks for reading this post; if you liked it please upvote it! If you want to read more about landscape and wildlife photography you can follow me. Resteems are welcomed. :-)

For more inspiring images and fine art prints, please visit my website.
http://www.photosbymoa.com/

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @moaphotography to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Great blog and amazing pictures of whales. I'm resteeming this post :D

Thanks Bro!!!

whale watching sounds so much fun, absolutely gorgeous pictures!


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us promote your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article will be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


Thanks for the comments, and yes go ahead :-)

These pictures are incredible and it's awesome the baby swam right up to the boat for inspection.

Thanks! Glad you liked them. :-)
When they are young, they are very curious and playful. I think this is common with different whale species.

I love nature, original photography, and that @ocd spotted this gem!

What a wonderful experience! Whales in real life are majestic and amazing and true witnesses to the power of the creator! Thank you for sharing this experience with us!

I am aspiring to be Steemit's public eye, watching out to keep Steemit full of amazing content producers and free of scammers, spammers and trash. If you ever see something suspicious or troublesome, feel free to let me know and I will happily look into it!
Thx

Thanks for your comments! Yup, whales are really amazing. I have another image that will share in a future post where you can see in perspective how big they are and how small we are. Stay tuned ;-)