You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: COME JOIN ME AND ENJOY SOME BEAUTIFUL FLOWERS!

in #photography5 years ago

That little yellow beauty caught my eye and drew me into your post. Dandelion is such an important plant for so many reasons.

The work you are doing to support this young child is very commendable and much needed in that god forsaken country.

Sort:  

Thank you very much. Dandelions are a misunderstood flower/plant. I recall my mother telling me stories of how growing up during WWII and the Great Depression her family would go out in the Spring and cut dandelion greens to supplement their food. I do add these greens to my salads because of the nutritional value

Thank you for visiting

I recall my mother telling me stories of how growing up during WWII.

Same here. There was a recipe book that the government distributed during the war covering wild food sources.
Rationing was severe for many years after the war as you probably know.

We were often given various types of seaweeds too. 😱 Happy days...not!