Venus (taken with the Nikon P900)

in #photography7 years ago

I saw Venus up in the sky near the moon this evening and wondered how much detail I could resolve with my Nikon P900.

The shot below was taken with a fully manual shutter speed and aperture setting as the camera can't expose correctly for these kind of shots. It wouldn't auto focus either, so that was manual too.

This is a 25% crop of a fully optical and digitally zoomed image...

Sort:  

That 90 zoom is one helluva drug... :D

I saw what this did and added it to my Amazon wishlist. Not going to buy it, but I do like to think about it.

Amazing! I have a cheap telescope that I can't see anything but the moon with. I did once look at Jupiter with a Celestron- Nextar. Jupiter was just a little dot, but I could see it's three moons in line from it. I want so much to see the rings of Saturn and some of the features of Jupiter. Everybody is raving about Mars and colonization. I think they have a death wish. the more they find out about Mars, the more dead it is. Yes there is water there, but we've yet to find any evidence of life, past or present. We'll never live on Jupiter or Saturn, but they have so much more character to explore than Mars.

Epic photographs dude, I love what you can do when you use some p900 tricks to improve your image quality.