You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Time Forgotten - Photo Gallery

in #photography4 years ago (edited)

I always like to think of some of the stories that went on when there were living souls in old abandoned places.

In the UK, when I've been in some of the rural places on countryside walks (or even coastal walks), you come across old ruins that were real hubs of activity. Tin mines being one of them. I guess in the USA, mining and all the railroad out houses are similar with their Ghost Town appeal.

Nice pictures, thanks for sharing!

Sort:  

Oh man yes, such stories surround these places and find it so fascinating.

When I was in Serbia the Kalemegdan fortress drew me in for the same reasons.. there is just something so stunning about those ruins and thinking about the lives that happened there.

We do have many ghost towns due to the gold rush, railroads etc here in the US, and many like this one of old farm/ranch houses where the families just moved closer to town or built elsewhere. Leaving such a story behind.

I really enjoy getting the chance to explore them as well as learning more about them.

Thanks so much!

I'm trying to remember the places I went to, I think Cody rings a bell but that's turned in to a bit of a tourist trap with Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid. I love those wild west stories, we get quite a lot of them (overly dramatised of course) on the History channel over here. They are so dramatic in the programme you actually feel like you were there yourself!

Once I have gone through my Australia and New Zealand travel adventure (which may be a while yet), I'll go back through my notes when I was at one ghost/mining town in Colorado. Pretty surreal birthday that one in 2014! The group I was travelling with got me a pink cowboy hat with a cap gun that I had to wear with the outrageous t-shirts we wore... sorry, massively sidetracked!

If you haven't been already, you might want to check out Jefferson on the eastern part of Texas. They do a ghost tour there and the walking tour guide is really good. My friend who lives there told me of a few stories she experienced and I thought something paranormal was going on in my room as well (apart from my own awesome presence that is haha!)

Haha yeah I lived near Deadwood for a bit and they really hype up the Wild West stories, including hourly reenactments.. but hey, the tourists love it I guess haha.

Pink cowboy hats in Colorado!?! Lol looking forward to those posts! 😂

I haven’t been to eastern Texas but will have to put it on my list. The paranormal stuff totally freaks me out, but I am intrigued by the history surrounding it and hearing the stories etc.

Hey, I definitely loved it! Wonder what some of those hardy people would have to say about the world today...

Oh dear... maybe I shouldn't have said that haha! Going to have to include that picture now... I'll try to remember and tag you but it may be a while before I get around to it yet!

I have to admit, I was a little bit spooked when I was there and we went on this ghost walk. The mind has an incredible ability to play games with you, especially once you hear stories and the like! Texas is a pretty wild place, but they know how to do ribs out there (if you're a meat eater), my goodness! There's a lot of history (what Americans consider history anyway :P ) in that state so if you are heading out that way, can give you some pointers!