Vintage Vinyl 💿

in #photography4 years ago (edited)

“Where words fail, music speaks.” ―Hans Christian Andersen

My post today is from a recent visit to Vintage Vinyl located on an area called The Delmar Loop in University City, MO. Vintage Vinyl's roots date back 40 years ago to 1979 when it first opened as a booth in Soulard Farmer's Market.

e0dmuw5wra.jpg

"The St. Louis landmark and legitimate tourist destination has been known to transform casual browsers into collectors in just one visit..." and is one of the "10 Best Record Stores in the USA" (source -USA Today)

npl46f1ba7.jpg

Music was organized by genres with signage displayed throughout the store. In each section, albums were alphabetized by group/artist.

krgivl4jus.jpg

If you needed assistance finding the location of a particular group or artist, employees were very helpful

mbaytma99t.jpg

This "Listening Station" was a unique feature offered at the store where you could play your albums before buying. Definitely a great way to check for any bad scratches on the vinyls.

aih2t05xl3.jpg

Wait a minute! Isn't that the cover from Abbey Road by the Beatles?

8b498og6zb.jpg

Yes, it is. And Vintage Vinyl had it set up as a backdrop for anyone wanting to do photo shoot. No takers in my party.

3kglcgarqc.jpg

These doodles and scribbly artwork were at the checkout. Definitely have some artistic talent at Vintage Vinyl

yj54s5pzei.jpg

Figured I'd play it safe and take a photo of the lenient but lengthy return policy-- just in case!

obgetr6y36.png

If you're running out of Christmas gift ideas or are in the mood to buy yourself some music to add to your record collection, you probably can find something special at local vinyl stores. Do a Google search to locate the nearest one to you!

"Life without music is no life at all." -Friedrich Nietzsche

obgetr6y36.png

Anytime you are out shopping, remember to take photos to post for Market Friday hosted by America's sweetheart, the lovely @dswigle

Images taken with Samsung Galaxy Note8

Thank you for taking time to stop by and visit my blog, as I truly appreciate everyone's continued support! Have a terrific day!

© 2019 Nina Haskin. All rights reserved

tmp_2019090600302751193.jpg
image
image


image

#cc #steemusa #qurator
Sort:  

Don’t mind me,
Just giving you Fish-Slap #2
for your Self-Voting behavior
in Round 73 of Food Fight Friday.
502D8BC4-CC97-4383-9892-11F593ED9F7D.gif
Only 3 more left....
Cheers

Taking that fish and releasing it here!🎣

hphutmoqqs.jpg
"Just Keep Swimming"
Click on image to enlarge

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 14 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory
!BEER
5

Thank you for reblogging and your support! @pixresteemer 💯



Hey @ninahaskin, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Cheers, Pix, and a big thank you! @pixresteemer

Congratulations @ninahaskin! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5750 replies. Your next target is to reach 6000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Yay!
Your post has been boosted with ESTM. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Always love to see you stopped by! @esteemapp
Thank you!🎶

What a cool store, I would have such fun in there, and i love that abbey road backdrop, but i probably would not have done a selfie with it either lOL

You definitely would have a fun time at Vintage Vinyl! The place has such a cool vibe. Type their website as it appears on the pink sticker to read about their history, upcoming events, free concerts and more.

Yeah, I wanted to snap a quick Abbey Road selfie but didn't want the extra eyerolling from my tribe!🙄🙄🙄

Have a good night if you're still awake on Steemit, else I'll catch you tomorrow! @tattoodjay

Well it was morning when I saw this I will check out there sight when I get to the office

Have a great day

Oh yeah I get the eye rolls all the time lol!

quality stuff, thanx for sharing!

I'm not into buying/collecting vinyl (I left this period of my life behind), but I absolutely love such cozy, cluttered, full of grace places.

Let me also answer you with another quote (maybe it was Voltaire... i dont remember exactly): "If God would want to reveal himself to people, he would come in the form of an absolute melody").

Much love moms! I got some vinyl somewhere around here, don't even remember what, but have to pull it out for ya sometime ;)

I love places like that! Good to see there are a few left.

You have used the Hashtag #[CC] and can now reward 97.0 comments under your post with one CC.

More information about the Commentcoin-Project can be found on this account.
You can easily add an upvote to this post to support the project.
Thanks for using it.

Happy comments.
Your CC-Team:
@kristall97 ([Code-Designer])
@alucian ([Project-Designer])

I love the Abbey Road backdrop! Why didn't you get a shot in there!? Oh, this is such a cool shot and I love that they have a listening station.

Remember Sam Goodies? They used to have one and I think it was the first big store that had one around where I lived. They even write the labels out with a marker! This looks like a fun place to spend a leisurely moment or three.

Let's throw a little Janis Joplin on and jump in our Mercedes Benz.

Geat post, Nina! Thanks for joining the challenge!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and Steemed

!tip .20

🎁 Hi @ninahaskin! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

How awesome that would be a place i would visit everyday if it was here i would go metal in there...lol 👀 🤣 👀

"Life without music is no life at all." -Friedrich Nietzsche

adding it to my collection
Thank you for a great post that reminds me of the hundreds of vinyls I've had to leave behind with my parents who will not sell them off in a fit of decluttering. They will not. No. They will not.