Friday Fotos!! Random Shots from Beautiful Uyo, Nigeria

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

So today I decided to take random shots of places I visited with my friends and colleagues at work. I wanted to let you guys into the colors and and feelings of my beautiful city, Uyo, Nigeria.

Uyo is the capital of Akwa Ibom State in Nigeria. A city popularly known for its sea food dishes, scenic environment, highlife music and of course beautiful women.

As a designer, I love my city a lot because of the many places and diverse people that I often meet. This keeps me inspired and in tuned with nature. The serenity of the area and vibes of local music as well as the food always gives an excitement like no other place.

So I want to share a bit of this adventure with you guys as I start a series called Friday Fotos, dedicated to showcase some of the hot spots and food in Uyo.

For our first episode, I visited the State Government Secretariate Annex located along Udo Udoma Avenue and later an old beverage depot to call it a day.

I hope you all enjoy this as you kickstart a great Weekend!! TGIF



More pictures in the next episode!!!IMG_6621.JPG


____________IMG_6619.JPG



()



Sort:  

Nigeria looks beautiful! I would love to visit someday.

It would be great!! Uyo is a peaceful city.

That's great - continue your series. What does DAKKADA on that hand mean?

Thank you @deveerei. Dakkada means "arise" in Ibibio. Ibibio is the local dialect in Uyo although English is the official language.

Thanks! It sounds nice - has a good ring to it. In the Philippines the closest sounding Filipino word I can think of (to Dakkada) is Dekada, which means Decade.

Okay..it's funny how languages seem to always sound alike

Well, when they share the same origin most of the words would be similar - but in our case I don't think they do - they also have completely different meaning - just mentioned it cause I think it's cool. :) You have a good one!

Congratulations @nsikakjon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!