Butterflies: Purple Hairstreak

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I only have four photos of this species, the purple hairstreak (Neozephyrus quercus), eikenpage in Dutch.

These butterflies live high up in oak trees, and they usually feed high up in buckthorn, without ever coming down. Photographing them requires a ladder or antics like climbing a tree next to theirs and hoping you don't scare them away.

Four one-handed shots:


Olympus XZ-1, 112mm, ISO100, f8, 1/100s


Olympus XZ-1, 112mm, ISO100, f8, 1/200s


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/250s


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/200s

The "purple" in their name is on the top side of their wings, but I haven't been able to get a photo of that yet.

Thanks for watching!

Previous in series: Green Hairstreak.

Sort:  

beautiful

so nice to see it butterfly in sunny day, I think our journey in this world like him. fly down and fly again hehe

Wow. I thought the 1st photo is a drawing or what.

It's definitely a what.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 3 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

really a great post ... I salute with the photo you take because you are willing to take this photo by climbing the stairs

Great shots!!!
Lover of all Lepidoptera species :-)