The Heron and the Snake. Just another day in the water in the great outdoors.

in #photography6 years ago

I am not the best bird identifier, but I can tell the difference in most of the super popular bird types. I think this bird is a Heron, and like most Heron's this one is hanging out in a pond doing his daily thing looking for something to eat. I happened to get some interesting shots of this bird, and I thought I would share them in this post. I wish I would have gotten more pictures of this, but these three pictures will have to do. This is not my usual thing to post, so it's nice to have a bit of break in postings. The scene with the Heron and snake was pretty impressive if you ask me.

The Heron appears to be scouting the area looking to see what it can find.

The Heron has caught what seems to be some water snake and looks like he's having a rough go with the snake. During the fight, it looked as if the snake kept trying to wrap its tail around the bird's neck, but it does not stop the battle for dinner.

The Heron has won the fight with the snake and off he goes the snake limp and defeated.

Did you know that Herons locate their food by sight and usually swallow it whole? They have been known to choke on prey that is too large. Wow! Could you believe swallowing your food whole? I am so glad that we have teeth to chew before we eat. I guess there are positives to being human. LOL 🙂

I find nature to be so fascinating and how most animals and humans instinctively know what their roles are and an idea of what needs to be done.

Additional information and facts on what this bird appears to be in my opinion. The Great Blue Heron is a large bird that is usually found near some type of water and or marshland around North & Central America, Caribbean and the Galápagos Islands. Once in awhile,​ they can be found in the coastal Spain, the Azores, and areas of far southern Europe. It's one of the most significant types of herons. It has a natural time adapting to just about any wetland habitat in its range and usually found in numbers.

Do you have Heron Birds in your area? ​


#animal #adventure #bird #heron #greatblueheron #water #alirivka #ozhiya

Sort:  

Trying something different today ...As always you are great at clicking nature and presenting it to us THANKQU for that...
But why dont you post daily ,you seem to be busy with something else i guess ,you should post here ..coz i have been here for some months now but i have only little no. Of friends ,so atleast stay connected with us....
Keep steeming ....and keep smiling ....

haha.... crazzy fans i see here :p goood

Bro just visit previous blogs of @ozhiya, you will also become a crazy fan of this talented and awesome Human being.

very nice picture, hopefully continue to work for you. if you do not mind please stop by my page, and give me my post value, hopefully you interesting.

That must have been an exciting adventure to watch. Sometimes it's difficult because I'll be rooting for both animals, but someone's got to die in the animal kingdom. It's one of the reasons I don't watch a ton of animal planet shows. I don't like watching the cute little ones get ripped to shreds. That being said, I'm ok with the heron winning. Snakes freak me out. What great timing you have!

I am so glad that we have teeth to chew before we eat.
I agree upon this, they really had a good fight and at last Heron wins.

The Heron appears to be scouting the area looking to see what it can find.

truly she is, she defenses her children against snake, that's mother for us...
no we don't have Herons in our area

good description with three beautiful photos. you can distinguish bird species. I do not understand bird species

WARNING - The message you received from @hashimhameed is a CONFIRMED SCAM!
DO NOT FOLLOW any instruction and DO NOT CLICK on any link in the comment!

For more information, read this post:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@arcange/phishing-site-reported-postupper-dot-ml

If you find my work to protect you and the community valuable, please consider to upvote this warning or to vote for my witness.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 11:03:49
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 136.15/200.00
Total Photos: 22
Total comments: 25
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Fantastic capture! Very special moment to watch and even take a pics! The bird is not a heron, it's a cormorant. Where did you take all these pics?
Here is the pic from my private photo bank of both together - heron and cormorant. You may see the difference. uganga-4.jpeg

You got a 3.11% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @ubergeekgirl!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

No dear, inour area their is no heron.
It has strong digestive enzymes, which can easily digest the prey ingested as a whole.

The tree in the first picture is aaawwweeesssooommeee dear. Superb photography as always my dear dear @ozhiya, just keep sharing.


I saw this poor fella struggling for half an hour to swallow this mouthful.