POPCORN PHOTOGRAPHY + A STEEMIT SEED SWAP OPPORTUNITY

in #photography7 years ago

It was hard to just harvest these without taking some photos too!


If you saw my previous post about popcorn, then you know that the @papa-pepper tribe recently enjoyed our second annual homegrown popcorn harvest! It was an excellent time and a great experience, and very rewarding too. The @little-peppers helped plant this crop and now they got to harvest it too. Soon, they will be popping it and enjoying it.

As we enjoyed our harvesting, we decided to take some extra photos too to document how amazing these cobs of popcorn really are. Some of the solo shots almost look like candy, as if they were piles of gum drops or something. Also, the group photos do an excellent job showing off the variety of colors and random "patterns" on the cobs.

I've included quite a few, so enjoy the photos!

THE SOLO SHOTS

GROUP PHOTOGRAPHY

ADDED BONUS

When we got them all shucked, we had an amazingly beautiful pile to finish drying. Many will be popped and eaten, but we will certainly be saving some for planting next year as well, so that we can have a 3rd annual @papa-pepper family popcorn harvest.

With such tasty and beautiful seeds, wouldn't you like to try growing your own? Don't worry, now you can! Just because I like to encourage others and bless them, I am opening up this seed harvest for a steemit seed swap.

If anyone in the United States is really interested in trying to grow some of your own, I can ship some to you for free upon request. I offer this for a few reasons. First, I encourage those already growing their own food. Also, I encourage those who do not already do so to give it a try. Additionally, I think that it helps build our community and blesses others.

Send a message to me on steemit.chat or discord if you are interested with a valid U.S. shipping address. Unfortunately too many laws and restrictions currently prevent me from shipping them elsewhere in the world.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-popcorn



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

This is so exciting. I love popcorn and can't believe I never thought to grow them myself. I wonder how they do in Florida?

I think that they will do well. The Chinese Noodle Beans should too, so I will mail some of them as well. Thanks for your real comment. Enjoy the upvote and the seeds!

Thanks @kubbyelizabeth!

@kubbyelizabeth I also live in Florida.

Very cool, Florida buddies!

yes it is

Join discord and chat up with all the other Floridian :)

Click here https://discord.gg/cByapU6

Really man... I wonder, why it never struck my mind. I grow ordinary corn 🌽 , because I love to munch it. But I never thought to grow the popping variety. Always bought it from grocery. This year's season has ended here in Kashmir India. Next year there will definitely be an area filled with popcorn 🍿 plants in my backyard, all thanks to you.. But I need to see about the climate and seed availability..

Apart from the obvious colour difference, how does popcorn differ from sweetcorn ?

Not sure... can you POP sweetcorn?

I know that some people eat popcorn varieties fresh like sweetcorn, but I'm not sure if you can pop sweetcorn.

Beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! <3 <3 <3 <3

Wow! They are beautiful! I love in North Florida...will they grow here?

I will take some of those colorful corns. Whats your discord name and number?

papa-pepper is the name. Not sure about my number.

papa-pepper 9726

Did you ever get with me on this one?

cool following you now papa

I love those colourful photos!

I need now some boiled corn on cobs

omg its first i saw these diff colours corn seeds

first time *

Such a cool series of shots, wonderful details and the colors in these really pop

I think I have only once had colorful corn once pretty much have only eaten the yellow corn, now I am wanting to try the colorful cobs

Cheers

The colors really pop!

Well said!

LOL
And funnily enough till reading your reply just now I didn't think of the play on words with pop

what the, there are popcorns with multiple colors

@turtledance24
thats @papa-pepper for you.. am surprised too... nice comment

LOL!

my man...@papa-pepper
hope when i visit north america i get my own share of the colorful corns...

Yes there are.

Nice. I like these different color corn! J

I really like your colour

This is so amazing corns, never seen before redish colour corn, thanks for sharing

They are pretty cool and we really like them!

Wow you are doing a great job , it will be helpful for all if you share some tips to grow it efficiently.

We just make sure to space them out about 6-8 inches, plant them about 1 1/2 - 3 inches deep and keep them watered.

What a pity am not in the USA ! I would certainly love to try some of those :)

If there were not certain restrictions about shipping seeds worldwide I would send them anywhere, but customs does not always like seeds.

Oh man, wish I lived in the US so I could get some and we could see how it'd fair growth wise here...I know we grow corn out here but I've never seen purple, red, or that almost opaque color of corn before...do they taste different from regular yellow corn?

These are used for popcorn, and they taste like popcorn when popped.

Very cool. :D Do you use a popcorn popper, a pot on the stove, or do you pop them in the microwave?

Sharing to show off some fabulous colors of the corn and maybe get folks to get some for free from @papa-pepper! (He really is a fantastic fella and has a sharing heart) If you are not following you should be!
Each corn silk feeds 1 kernel and corn silk is a healer for kidney/bladder issues...

Wow, I have never seen that colorful corn. Amazing! :D Thanks for post @papa-pepper :)

You look quite similar to Johnny Depp 😂😂😂

I have heard that quite a few times since joining steemit. You are not alone in that conclusion.

Oh my God, that's who you reminded me of indeed!!! :D

Wow .. that corn color is very strange. I just saw this this time .. if any seedlings I will try to plant my home yard .. thank you for sharing @papa-pepper

A seed swap is such a good idea. I love it. I've never tried to grow corn, but I have a lot of other fruits and veggies. :)

Proof of pop corn haha!!! I love pop corn so clearly I liked this post, the solo shots seem so surreal!!! Unfortunately in the US and here in Denmark I don't know how easy it is to grow your own (weather and all) Enjoy what you very well made yourself!!! :D

Are the colored popcorns organic? It's my first time to see it in different colors. :D

They were from a true source - BAKER CREEK HEIRLOOM SEED COMPANY - and I have used no chemicals on them.

It's a great post!!! I like popcorn!!! It's the first time i see colorful one.

Coolest corn photos. Ever. :D

Maybe you should be called Poppa-pepper-papa, it can be your rap name!
Great pics of the corn btw!
Always good stuff!

LOL, you still remember my raps, huh?

What a lovely bunch of corn @papa-pepper! And generous with your abundant harvest too. Next year you will be blessed even further as crops of your seeds grow in other areas! Congratulations on a bountiful crop.

Wow, I LOVE the Popcorn Pics!!!! I grow my own corn too, many kinds and colors that have come to me from different lineages. I also grow a shitload of other seeds that we save and share. You like Asian Greens? Fun Jen, Yokatta-Na? I love the idea of a Steemit Seed Exchange, this is brilliant. Do you know of the Seed Savers Exchange work being done here in the US? Do you follow Rowen White and her work on keeping seed stories alive? Beautiful and inspiring post, I will share some of my corn pics with you:

I have heard of some of that stuff, but have not looked into it too deeply yet.

I was going to try growing a "green dent" variety of bigger eared corn for tortilla flour this year, but I'll have to wait for next year. Your corn looks amazing, and I do love Asian greens. Are you in the US and would you like to swap some seeds?

I am in the US, and I would love to swap seeds :-)

What would you like?

wow the colors are awesome and am sure that they taste great. You can also cook , roast on fire wood or grill and eat. Good guy indeed.

Awesome photos. Definitely growing pop-corn next year. My daughter loves it when I make it on movie night.

Interesting looking popcorn. I bet the little peppers love it. Do they pop up being white or the color of the kernels?

More proof the @papa-pepper tribe enjoys some really cool fun things in life. Thanks for sharing.

Awesome post...It's always fun when children can take part in the planting and harvesting of crops! It is an excellent way to teach them sustainability....
Enjoy your popcorn!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Aug 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $22.65 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Aug 14 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

WOW..... SO Beautiful

Yes sir,
I m very exiting to join steem.its very well social media .it's future very well and right way to investment.

Congratulations @papa-pepper!
Your post was mentioned in the hit parade in the following category:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 10 with 391 upvotes

Interesting, vibrant and beautiful. Cool stuff.