SOUTH PADRE ISLAND CRAB MACRO-PHOTOGRAPHY – Volume 2

in #photography7 years ago

This was another crab that we found on the island!


At night, a lot more of these crabs come out and crawl around on the rocks and in the shallows. During the day, you have to look a lot harder to find them. This was one species that we found. We found individuals who were as small as a finger nail and some who could fill the palm of your hand. This was one of the bigger ones.

Not only is finding creatures like this an amazing experience that @papa-pepper really enjoys, it is also a great opportunity for me to make memories with the @little-peppers that will last for years to come. We probably all looked like a bunch of excited little children as we explored and enjoyed!


HERE IS A BONUS GIF



As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-big-bad-crab

PREVIOUS POST

To check out my first South Padre Island Crab photo shoot CLICK HERE.



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Wow. They look like real mean bar stewards with those claws. I used to go crabbing with my Dad and it was great fun. Fish hook, line and a chunk of meat, throw into the sea off a pier etc and wait for a few mins then pull out and often a crab was attached!! Some bigger than yours but nothing with claws like that!!

I just taught my @little-peppers how to do that!

That GIF is super cool. You have a very interesting life. If at some point we ever have a real apocalypse, I will look for you to guide the way. Unless you have taught me enough by then already. I also love your respect for wild life and nature. You are by far the most entertaining, educations and influential person on SteemIt by far and I hope you do not ever stop. Please Don't. @papa-pepper thumbs up.

Wow, comments like those blow me away! Thanks so much @nicnas!

Those claws look absolutely brutal! I wonder how these crabs taste!

A few did make me bleed, but just me, not the children.

What a great family adventure you guys had! Hello little peppers!

Hi @papa-pepper!
Congratulations! You are in the daily digest Daily digest of the best materials from the photography category at number 1!
To get acquainted with the digest you can completely follow the link Daily digest of the best materials from the photography category!

@papa-pepper Those crabs were definitely mean mugging :P. Thanks for taking the time to share this little devil. If you ever find yourself in Colorado the wildlife out here is amazing and I wouldn't mind showing you all of the amazing mountains.

I will keep that in mind. I've love to get back to Colorado. Thanks!

That pic on the algae is dope mate! Wow! I just love the green color!
Beautiful as always!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Your photo is great. Inside me my crab was very popular. Our society wants a lot to use to make noodles, crab noodles name, delicious and delicious taste. Many Indonesian crab Hbshells are sent overseas, such as china, Malaysia, Autralia, and other countries. Crabs can live in two places, both in the water and in the land, but on land can not live long. And there is also our place, crabs are made for crab sauce soup. If you want to go to Aceh indonesia do not forget to eat Crab noodles ...... if you have felt.Cry the crab aceh sure you will want to get it again.reating it again.

Nice papa-pepper

very good pictures

I tried. Hard with the waves and such so near my camera, but we had fun.

your every picture is awesome.Thanks for sharing it.I am voting you.
Please vote me on my post.

looks amazing and wild thanks for sharing

Making memories is what it is all about, grow up with your children and see the world from their perspective! (Do not sleep on the beach for they are territorial and will make sleep impossible) Sharing this.

Great photos of the crab

Welcome to Texas dude! If you're making a stop in San Antonio, let me know!!

I think @daddykirbs is right outside of SA too, might have to swing through in ac couple months.

It's a rad town. I work at a hotel downtown too, hit me up if you need a place to stay! I'll try and get you a deal

also thanks for introducing me to another Texan Steemian! @daddykirbs, followed!

Very cool pics of the crab! Was this at low tide? I'm surprised that the crab was out and about during the day.. unless it was low tide. My experience in the Pacific NW has been looking thru the "crab grass" at low tides for any crabs.

Upvote and comments

Sorry @papa-pepper,
I think I found a typo:
Proof of real GOOD crab
Little guy is not so bad!!!
😜
Love these nature posts!!!!
✌ Peace

LOL! Thanks @em3!

Hey, that is Wood Sorel in your Steem Pocolypse game! The plant the guy gives them!
I've been putting a 'top' or two in my smoothies for last couple weeks. I learned it was good to eat as a kid!!
Can't wait till I can get in on your next SteemPocolypse game...if you run it again!!!!
(Posted here because u asked not to post on that thread...avoid the extra clutter)

Wow this crab image looks very clear. Very precise camera shots @ papa-pepper. I would not dare hold it for fear of his finger pin :-)

@papa-pepper cool!)
I am glad to acquaintance! Subscribe!

woah, love the close up shots!

That little guy winked at me!

Do they get any bigger? Wonder if they are any good to eat?

I think that they would be just as good as any other crab, but I'm not sure and did not try.

@papa-pepper do you know that this little creature is smart. But still taste good for those that enjoy sea food..good one , thanks for sharing. I mentioned you in my new post, feel free to check it out.

This crab is looking very angry,hahaha

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jul 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $61.33 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 21 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Very nice photos here. I love nature photography. I have got to break away from work and get out to So. Padre or another beach before the Summer is over. Keep up the good work.

Nice papa-pepper. Thanks for sharing.