WILD ANIMALS TODAY - ENJOYING MY LAST DAYS WITH MY CAMERA

in #photography6 years ago

I got the chance to watch a few wild animals at some feeders today.


Since the camera that I'm giving away is still very new to me, I'm still figuring things out. I'll be happy to get my replacement, and happy to give this one away, but for now, I'm really enjoying having it. I've never owned a DSLR camera before, and it has been a blast using it. Hopefully when another steemian wins it, they can put it to some good use.

Anyway, I enjoyed zooming in to take some photos of a male Cardinal and some Grey Squirrels today, so here are a few of my favorite photos.

CARDINAL

This male Cardinal sat upon this feeder the whole time that I was there. A female joined him for a bit, and a few Chickadees, but I didn't manage to get any shots taken quickly enough. Considering the distance that he was from me, I am happy with the shots.

SQUIRRELS

The playful squirrels in these photos were a few of about a half dozen that were running around. They had already stripped the dried corn kernels off of the cobs, but they kept checking them anyway. The rest just searched the ground for any that may have been missed.

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Gosh!!!!! You are a very smart photographer!!!!! Love your work! I mean how do you take such closer captures of the animals without driving them away?Is it a some sort of art or a technique?
-cheers-

To get a shot like this:

Sometimes you have to do this:

Here is a how to video:

Oh thank you. I will look into it.Thanks a lot
-cheers-

I haven't been able to watch this with sound yet, but that is crazy how you handled that snake! One thing I don't miss about the foothills of California are the rattlesnakes! Looking forward to seeing what you'll be doing with your new camera!

California rattlesnakes sound so nice! Hopefully one day I can check them out.

I think they're amazing creatures, but we had a neighbor who was a very experienced outdoorsman and he literally stepped out his door one day and the rattler was right there-struck him twice before he could react. He spent 3 days in the hospital. I have a healthy respect for that kind of power.

wow!!!!
Yu weren't scared!!!
Your really a talented photographer !!!!
Going that close to a snake...

very cool!

Let me reserve my words and just say
NEVER DIE WITH OUT SUCH A CAMERA

Oh Wow! Your confidence and composure around these creatures is really amazing! To even try to change the location and stage the shot a bit, is incredible...I swear I almost dropped my plate of food when the snake eluded your first attempt to pick it up...that's how scared I was. Did I hear you say 'chicken'? lol

This shot with the snake needs a brave heart like yours to take, well i guess you enjoyed

scared ))

No! Please stop!!! AHHH!!! O.o Try photographing through binoculars!!! I explain it all here!!!
https://steemit.com/photography/@katysavage/binocular-photography

WTF?!? Plus you look like the crocodile hunter! 😂 😂 😂

Great photos, love squirrels...

Some nice pictures especially the bird , unfortunately here in the uk we don’t get the red cardinal, you might just like my latest post about me making a nestbox . Cheers mike

Nice photos, followed for future posts sir. Keep up the good work.

Such great pictures. I'm stunned how beautiful those are.

They really are beautiful! Thanks!

Hey, your photos are incredible and those birds look quite innocent and cute. I love the way you have presented natural beauty. Bravo..!

Excelentes disparos y precisión, saludos

I’m hoping that camera is coming my way. It’s very nice of you, doing this contest.

Extraordinary. You have amazing photos. Surely you need some time to photograph the moment of a red bird and the squirrel. Is that right? @papa-pepper

You have earned 5 XP for making 5 comments today!

>Learn more here<

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #animalphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.06
Server time: 06:30:40
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 38.45/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

mantap. imut kali

woow papa-pepper you take great picture of wild animal! well done carry on !
congragulation from africa!

wow great shots..im sure that you can be happy by giving away it..the more you give the more you get..i really appreciate your generosity :) the world wants people like you sir

Thank you for your kind words.

Great clicks @papa-pepper especially Male CARDINAL they are pretty aggressive, hopefully they didn't attack you during clicks :p

Thankfully, I was not attacked.

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

Cardinals ate pretty stunning birds. It seems like i only see crows around my place. Very nice shots. That camera is a great prize!

Yeah, crows are not quite as stunning....

very beautiful a bird is pensive...@papa-pepper

Awesome shots @papa-pepper! Your camera is perfect! :)

Thanks! Glad that you liked the photos!

You're most welcome @papa-pepper! And you're giving away the camera, I know why you are very blessed because you are paying it forward, you are always sharing your blessings! The winner will be very blessed and lucky! 📷🎉

The camera is good enough to use. Actually you are very good at photographing every object remotely. The combination of the quality of the camera and the expertise of the person who defines it determines the beauty of the image. I really enjoy the photos of birds and squirrels in the wild. The squirrel holds the stalk of corn very cute. Thanks for sharing @papa-pepper.

These are awesome photographs. Are these your feeders? I am asking, because I am doing something wrong I guess. I put out corn for dear and squirrels and the squirrels won’t touch it. I get it from Home Depot. Is there a certain brand you choose? Thanks.

No, they are not my feeders, so I'm not sure...

Ok, thanks.never hurts to ask. 😊

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

wow....excellent photography, beautiful animals, amazing post, thanks for sharing

Great photos! Did you charge that squirrel for the photo posing with the corncob! Something for him to send home to his ma... Ha ha!

Squirrels are one of my my favorite animals. I could watch them all day long! I remember back in college seeing the squirrels on campus! they would get into the trashcans and just have a field day!

Giving away that camera is such a wonderful thing! You're a good one papa!!

Wow these are stunning pictures. Did you took them with the 18-55mm kit-objective?
It really is a big step up with a DSLR conpared to a mobilphone.
I'm curious about the camera giveaway. I'll try do dig up some more infos about it:-)
Have a nice day!

Amazing photography,looks professional

That first squirrel looks ver proud of his corn cob!

Not the St Louis Cardinals but clear enough it it a cardinal :-)

oh wow... you are awesome man.. I really liked your photographs... i liked the squirrel with corn one... it looks as though its posing for you... :)
And have commented about that camera in your post too:)

Wow nice photos,i like your photography

Nice post :)
i like it, i am proud of you, keep on working :)
if please upvote my post as well. Supporting one is beautiful @papa-pepper

https://steemit.com/steemit/@mahyul/please-a-little-time-for-steemit-5b503606d81a1

Wow! Those shots are amazing, that DSLR are awesome. I haven't have any kind of Camera except for the smartphone camera's.

We enter your give away post papa-pepper. My bebi and i are hoping to win the camera. 💜
we promised that we will use it in good ways, take a lot and diff candid shots. 📷

Love, nyl & Reenie
IMG20180122140551.jpg

Send me your PO Box if you get a minute. Sending you something.

It's awesome that you are blessing someone with a gift!
"It's better to give than receive" Comes to mind as I read your blog.
Thanks man

That's a fat squirrel, he eats corn too much 😎

And OMG! IT'S AMAZING THAT YOU COULD GET THAT CLOSE TO A SNAKE JUST TO TAKE ITS PICTURE 😱😱

This is me this morning, I know my wallet is empty cos of weekend expenses but I keep checking that wallet to make sure I didnt leave money in one of the purses! Hahaha, nice inspirational photograph.

Fantastic photos.

I will stay tunned

.Nice post beautiful presented and explained. detail oriented with nice pics. thank you for sharing this with us…Nice post beautiful presented and explained. detail oriented with nice pics. thank you for sharing this with us…thanks for sharing love you sir @
papa-pepper

Great shot. I like the the different angles you use to shoot the squirrel's pictures. And the Cardinal exposure just perfect, love it love it love it. Looking forward to see more shots.

thanks, happy today! upvoted!

If you can get videos of this stuff and make compilations, I would play these into the ground. My cat LOVES these videos. I put them on for her when I'm gaming and she'll watch the squirrels and birds for hours without moving.

you are an artist amazing photography i really hope its not your last day with your camera!!!!

Umm... so cute..
Love all of your picture..

You're good at this huh?

I wish we had more than seagulls to take photos of here.

To get a good photo of any native birds in the wild here, you need a much bigger lens than the one I have. And much faster reflexes ;-)

Looking forward to seeing your work with the new camera.

No no no @papa papper. You really have a good camera and if whose pics where taken after zooming then
It's not a good camera but a nat Geo Wild camera

Any way I would have asked for it but since it's also your first time then Enjoy it.

Otherwise my first money on steemit am now wishing to Buy that

Can't wait to withdraw for that Cam.

Cardinals are such beautiful birds. Nice shots! What type of camera are you going to get as a replacement for the one you are giving away? :)

I'm keeping that a surprise for now, but it should be delivered on Wednesday here.

Ah, I see. Looking forward to reading about your new camera when it arrives ;)

Hi!!! I find that you are now a bird photographer? :) And a squirrel photographer! Goodness, it is just so hard to photograph squirrels. But, of course you'd do it any which way you can and do it well too. :)
Am back on Steemit after a long time... and very happy to be so. God, I missed your posts. Now I'm going to have a feast. :D
Cheers to you!

Next time bring that poor guy some corn... he is looking at you asking for it

started my day off with a smile, thanks.

There are 2 pages
Pages