Herons in Seattle, Returning to Roost

in #photography6 years ago

Noticed the Great Blue Herons recently return to their rookery a few blocks from my house. Took the opportunity this weekend to rent a long lens from the local camera store (shoutout Glazers for your awesome rental department). It was really fun, making me wish I had $1,800 laying around to buy one of my own. Maybe someday...

For interested photogs, the lens I'm drooling over is the XF Fujifilm 100-400mm WR OIS. Shoots great photos on my Fuji X-T2 but it's hard as f*** to focus the beast.

Blue Heron out on Puget Sound at Sunset (left my neighborhood for a short trip to West Seattle to get this one):
DSCF2331.jpg

Blue Herons near the rookery by my house:
DSCF2030.jpg

An American Wigeon (fun name; it's a dabbling duck):
DSCF1898.jpg

Unidentified female dabbling duck from behind:
DSCF1843.jpg

Trying to get back into photography. So far, getting my hand's on expensive drool-worthy gear is helping. Started 500px too in case anyone wants to follow me there: https://500px.com/papaknee

Thanks,
Papaknee

Sort:  

these are nice pictures ! wigeons are some of my favourite birds!
good to find more birdwatchers around !
I have just started a blog about birdwatching do check it out ! cheers.