A festival of colours

in #photography4 years ago (edited)

Funny how some wrongs are actually rights. Yesterday, I've missed the bus I was supposed to take for about 20 seconds, and ended up having an amazing trekking experience because of that. And Como was one of the cities I've dismissed first when thinking about where to stay near lake Como, in Italy. And that's exactly where I ended up, and I'm glad I did! Why?

  • cheaper accommodation
  • great base for exploring the lake and some hiking trails
  • and... this:

mr6k2xu183.jpg

The first night, when I left the hostel, this was what I've seen: a city covered in colours and lights!

From what I've leaned from a cool Italian couple I've met yesterday, from late November to early January each year, Como becomes a festival of colours! Piazza del Duomo, where the cathedral is, looks like this:

qv6agxbt38.jpg

And the colours and images keep changing!

1hqe321fuy.jpg


layetymu5h.jpg

Ps.see, @phortun? Wildlife! Look at the deer and the rabbit! 😂😂

Continuing to another piazza, the show remains.

t0g8oej4fa.jpg

I think no one told the bears the restaurant was already closed... oh well, at least they can support tbe freezing cold, it should be around -1 Celsius!

2w48gt1m21.jpg

And in Piazza Alessandro Volta, the show was even more awesome!

06qubwqhyu.jpg

The carousel in the middle of the square just added to the magic.

Even the passages between some of the squares were lit!

tc06lmfn4x.jpg

Top everything with a Christmas market, and you have a dream village by the lake!

s3ioajuygr.jpg

I don't think I could have asked for more. May the next year be as colourful as the streets of Como in this season. Happy 2020 everyone!

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Happy new year 2020

Posted using Partiko Android

Happy 2020!

Congratulations have been nice sharing

Thank you! Happy New Year!