Bringing the polar regions to you: Narwhals, the elusive whale

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Five years ago, my life changed. When I decided to be part of a women scuba diving expedition to explore for a month one of the coldest place on earth, I never thought at this point I would never really come back in my normal life. This is my first post on steemit and I hope you will enjoy it! I am excited to bring you a little closer to the magic of the earth’s last great wilderness, the Arctic and the Antarctica!

I thought to start by telling you about one of the most elusive whales that I have the chance to encounter many times now: the narwhals. I took this picture during a filming expedition in the Canadian High Arctic on Baffin Island. Narwhals are one of the only three whales that live in the Arctic all year round. The other ice whales are the belugas and the bowhead whales. One of the most interesting fact about narwhal for me, as a scubadiver is not about their famous tusk but rather the fact that they can dive more than 1600 meters under the sea when the surface is covered in more than 99% sea ice. In the winter time, they basically live in complete darkness in one of the coldest place on earth. Because of this, nobody has been able to observe the species in their wintering ground and understand their behavior yet. There are still so much more to learn about this weird but incredible species.DSC_1109_3.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @polaraddict! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Excellent i promoted this for you with my pitance of steam power
Was always facinated by artic whales 2 think its the childrens books

Thanks! I have so much more to share about...Stay tuned!

Wow! I love narwals! You have a new follower!

They are amazing! Seeing them in their natural habitat is a life experience you never forget! Thanks for following me! Much more coming ...

ah unicorns of the ocean!!

Ain't it scary to dive with such creatures? They must be kind.. I admire your work and think it's fascinating, but couldn't do it myself since I'm too scared of the Ocean and other water areas ( e.g. lakes and seas and everything with fish and other water creatures).

Not scary at all. They are so peaceful. An Inuit legend says that every time you see a narwhal it is a reminder of forgiveness!

Maybe their size helps them feel safe so they don't need to act defensively, Idk. Beautiful they are for sure as well as that Inuit saying.

Wow! This post is amazing and so are narwhals! They are absolutely beautiful. You're so lucky to have seen them in their natural habitat. Fantastic!

thanks for following !