The Day I Caught The Solar Eclipse In My Hand — Pretty Decent

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Eclipse.PNG

All things considered, it was a pretty normal day.

I was at work, sitting in my office. It'd only been about a week since my dad's funeral, and I was reaching a point at work where I just sat all day in the dark, waiting to go home.

I watched online as different regions of the world went dark, the moon closing in on the sun. Drowning out the light.

I walked outside, armed with a cereal box rigged to show me a reflection of what was happening lightyears away in space.

IMG_2187.JPG

I felt underwhelmed. I went back to my desk, ready to log back into the empty grind of work. Then, like a tiny miracle, the sunlight drifted in through my window, catching the tiny holes in the closed blinds.

IMG_7766.JPG

It's such a small and seemingly inconsequential moment, but it's one of the most remarkable things that's ever happened to me.

IMG_7775.JPG

A few minutes later, everything went back to normal.

IMG_0771.JPG

Thank you for reading! What were you doing during last year's solar eclipse? Get any good pictures? Comment below, I wanna see :)

Breaker.png

Enjoy this post? Read more from Pretty Decent:
Can You Help Me? (3 Quick Questions About Steemit)
The Internet Of People
Hi Steemit! I'm Lexi, And I'm About To Make The Scariest Transition Of My Life

Sort:  

Oh, love. Isn't it amazing the way nature, and light especially, can shift what's happening inside us? I was in my house, practicing yoga as the eclipse happened. The light changed, bringing a mystical quality to an otherwise bright day. I hadn't thought about it since then, until you asked me to do so. Thank you! :)

Wow! I wish I'd been practicing yoga that day, though I did appreciate this little moment in time. I miss yoga so much. I neeeed to stretch!!

i happy with your post ! Thanks

Thank you!!

Cool post. When trying to figure out where the eclipse was (very cloudy), I accidentally looked directly at it. When I closed my eyes I could see the after-image of the eclipse on my retina for about 10 mins, lol.

Oh no! Hahaha that is too funny. It's instinctive, I guess, to look up -- we didn't get enough coverage in FL for me to even consider it.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @prettydecent to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

This brought tears to my eyes. Beautiful

Wow, that is absolutely incredible! The things that had to line up in the universe for that to happen are mind-boggling! I am so glad you got it on camera so you could share it with us! So cool!

I agree the eclipse is pretty cool especially if you can apture it the way you did. Definitely unique and pictures i feel you should keep for years to come.

Amazing photos, that day i was at mcdonalds working, but i manage to look at the eclipse for a minute or two

I saw the eclipse in an area of totality. It was amazing, truly a spiritual fear transcends through your body. The insects went quiet in the area. It felt very uncomfortable as it got darker and odder - but the most powerful moment was seeing the sun blast over the moon - casting a surreal halo.

I was skeptical, but after that I would urge everyone to try to go see a total eclipse once, just buy your glasses before the date.