GingerBread Masonry in Vancouver and SMART Goals, Lifestyle and Homeschooling Blog, New Digital Art and Photography

in #photography4 months ago

Gingerbread Masonry in Vancouver

IMG_4870 (3).jpeg

One of the hi-lights of any Christmas season in Vancouver for our family is a visit to the Gingerbread Lane, hosted at the Hyatt Regency on Burrard Street. The hotel lobby houses the best in gingerbread masonry, meringue fixtures, and burnt sugar siding to be found in the city. The even runs from December 1st to the 29th this year. Although you may wish to get there early to avoid the inevitable loss in curb side appeal from the erosion of greedy little fingers that just don't know how to resist all those pretty tempting sugary treats.

Don't want to do any spoilers for those you that might still drop by in the remaining days. Here is a look at last years offering.

IMG_4870 (4).jpeg

IMG_4981.jpeg

IMG_4870 (2).jpeg

This year marks the 31st year of gingerbread. 2023 Gingerbread Lane can boast that it is the longest running festival of gingerbread houses, castles, villages, and hotels in Canada.

You will find offeringa from the professional culinary arts academies, to the grade-school amateur entries. Some of the creations will wow you and some will show you the fun the children had putting them together for the event with their classmates. All of them may very well inspire you to give a festive build a try yourself next year.

IMG_4978.jpeg

IMG_4870.jpeg

IMG_4980.jpeg

IMG_4870 (1).jpeg

Personally, I was not up to a whole house construction this year, but I did make a few dozen almost carnivore gingerbread cookies; so me a Minime and I were not tempted to indulge in the full sugar and flour versions.

My cookie, I paired with a Starbucks coffee. The Hyatt has a franchise conveniently in its lobby. Minime got a steamed milk with a shot of no sugar added vanilla. The outing was a treat for the tastebuds and the eyes and a fundraiser for the Make-A-Wish foundation. Those who would like to contribute can make their vote for best house count in more ways than one. There is a donation box in the lobby that generally resembles Santa's letterbox.

IMG_4870 (5).jpeg

SMART Goal

Minime Careers Education unit has him setting a SMART (Specific. Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, and Time-Bound) goal. We have been studying second languages for a while on Duolingo. Learning another language is a very long term goal, but he set a achievable, if determined goal for the short term.

From our studies ...

Date: November 19- 26, 2023

Goal: My smart goal is to complete three lessons a day for each of four languages, French, Spanish, Russian, and Mandarin, I study on Duolingo, for a total of twelve lessons a day for one week, 84 lessons in total for the week.

Reason this goal is important to me: When I grow up I want to travel and knowing multiple languages is important for travel.

IMG_4974.jpeg

Screenshot 2023-12-27 at 7.46.13 PM.png

Minime's Reflections

I achieved my SMART goal. I exceeded it. I made Duolingo a priority and kept track of my lessons with tallies in my progress chart. It took about an hour a day, and I still had to fit in other studies. Sometimes, at the end of the day, I felt tired and had to power through. I found the SMART system useful because it allowed me to keep track of my language studies and made me more accountable. I couldn’t just give-up when I was tired. I had to keep going.I think I will continue with the goal because I want to know the languages and Duolingo tells us that we need 15 minutes a day to learn a language. I like learning languages and traveling.

Once I decide on a career, I could research the steps to have this career. I could set a SMART goal for each step, taking a very big goal and chopping it into smaller ones to make it more achievable.

IMG_4977.jpeg

***

Words and Images are my own.

Click on any title below to further explore and support my writing.


41W9NO+twnL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

51yzou8DjZL.jpg

51Kh1EXgJ4L.jpg

41jG7IKuSWL.jpg

31gdhyzrl3L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

51myL5BPXFL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_-1.jpg

23561680_2086437891584498_8465926052567756066_n.jpg

Sort:  

Way to go Minime! Vancouver is a very diverse city (at least according to Wikipedia) so you might find an opportunity to practice with native speakers when you're out and about. I would guess French and Mandarin would be the likeliest languages to encounter there. Keep it up!

You are so on. Yes, hear ALL of those language basically on a daily basis. Loads of Japanese spoken by visiting ESL students. Lots of Russian and French from new emigrants. Mandarin speakers also have relocated here and of course Spanish is ubiquitous everywhere in North America. We do a LOT of eavesdropping, not really ready for the conversation stage. I try. People are very patient. LOL.

I hope you achieve your goals in learning four languages in a day. It may not be easy but it is achievable
I wish you well and the gingerbread creations really look good

Thank you @rafzat. Happy New Year!!!

All these flowers are looking very beautiful Sunflowers are my favorite flowers and all these decorations are looking very beautiful New year is coming we all will see that within this year if we work If you do, you will definitely succeed

Thank you. That is very kind.

Most welcome dear.

The flowers are actually looking so beautiful I must confess

Thank you:)

Those gingerbread offerings look divine!

Love a well-made gingerbread:)

lovely collection of flowers as always

so harsh winter over there and in the northern hemisphere now, many ppl even die or get depressed

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

It seems like this year, the winter was really severe all around the globe

Congratulations @prydefoltz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 46000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 47000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - January 1st 2024

Congratulations @prydefoltz! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - December 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the January edition of the Hive Power Up Month!

Congratulations @prydefoltz! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Announcing the Winners of HiveBuzz's Yearly Author Badge for 2023!
PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - December 2023 Winners List