Rusty Teeth, Show-Off Crows, and Giant Ants, Market Friday Blog, New Digital Art and Photography

in #photographylast year

Rusty Teeth, Show-Off Crows, and Giant Ants

IMG_8446 2 (4).jpeg

Somewhere around the third Thursday of the month, the Beaty Biodiversity Museum at UBC hosts their pay-what-you-can event, Beaty Nocturnal. The evening usually coincides with a new biology-themed art exhibit or science lecture. Doors open on the event at 5pm; although the exhibits are available earlier for those paying full price or members. Membership is very reasonable.

IMG_3112 2 (1).jpeg

IMG_8446 2.jpeg

IMG_3112 2.jpeg

Minime and I quite enjoy our sojourns out to my Alma Mater. We try to arrive before 5pm, so we can include a visit to the Pacific Museum of Earth, just across Main Mall in the Earth Science Complex.

They boutique museum has a fine collection of minerals and gems and exhibits explaining numerous geological phenomenon, from tornadoes to tsunami.
And they have a sea monster, a dinosaur and a giant globe that can take on the semblances of everything from the Earth to Jupiter, from the Milky Way to the Cosmic Microwave Background ... to a Jack O' Lantern.

IMG_8446 2 (1).jpeg

IMG_2777 2.jpeg

So if you got dinosaurs and Ogopogo's GiGi to your right, and to your left a blue whale skeleton. You are in science center for burgeoning young minds and older minds that just can't stop being curious.

I tease Minime by calling Beaty the Museum of Death and his favourite attraction ... way in the back ... the Discovery Lab ... where they offer a hands-on experience ... the dead petty zoo. A great band name come to think of it.

I know to look for Minimi first, in the back, stroking a stuffed owl, squirrel, or skunk, before searching the dozens of aisles full of preserved life of every flora, fauna, and fungi the curators could stuff with cotton, press in a book, or soak in formaldehyde.

IMG_8377.jpeg

During Beaty Nocturnal however they bring the discovery lab to you. This beaver was being rolled about, along with a beaver skull and a sheep, bear, and otter pelt. I learned a new thing. Rodent means 'red teeth'. Rodent teeth contains a high level of iron, and when the iron oxidizes, it turns red. Despite what cartoons depict, the beaver's teeth, at least in the front, are a lovely rust-brown.

untitled.gif

IMG_2777 2 (1).jpeg

IMG_7663.jpeg

IMG_2777 2 (2).jpeg

A second rolling cart had an Albino crow to discover and offered the chance to prove that you indeed smarter than a pre-schooler. You could try your hand at solving a couple tool-based problems that had already been previously solved by crows. No pressure. Right?

Yes, I solved one of the problems and watched while another museum patron tackled and conquered the other. Take that crows and now where are our worms.

IMG_6665.jpeg

IMG_8426.jpeg

IMG_3112 2 (2).jpeg

IMG_8446 2 (3).jpeg

My favorite part of the evening is generally the lecture. Dr. Bruce Archibald presented his findings and theories as to why ... way back in the Eocene ... it appears as though tropical and temperate species cohabitated in the same ecosystem ... palms and cypresses ... varying insects and giants ants. The dominant theory is that the tropical species, found in the fossil record, did not require the heat of the tropics, but rather, like a transplant Winnipeger in Vancouver, simply couldn't stand the cold. Eocene winters were mild up in the alpine and this allowed for greater diversity of species in northern latitudes and amazing inspiration for drive-in movies millions of year later.

IMG_5971.jpeg

IMG_8446 2 (2).jpeg


***

Words and Images are my own.

#MarketFriday is hosted by @dswigle. Be sure to post your contribution and show other marketfridayers some love. Be by soon, Denise, to just the that. Mwah:)

Click on any title below to further explore and support my writing.


41W9NO+twnL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

51yzou8DjZL.jpg

51Kh1EXgJ4L.jpg

41jG7IKuSWL.jpg

31gdhyzrl3L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

51myL5BPXFL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_-1.jpg

23561680_2086437891584498_8465926052567756066_n.jpg

Sort:  

I can see what kind of drive-in movies you liked! What they lack in inspiration they rule in cheesy scare tactics. Giant Ants? No way! I ain't afraid of no ants!

This was a great visit and if you are looking for me, I am in back with Minime but don't expect me to be petting dead stuffed has-beens.

I liked the introduction by Beaty Biodiversity Museum. He made me want to go there and that was under two minutes... I can only imagine a lecture by him. I have never seen/heard of albino crows!

You make each and every post fun and interesting, and I am always learning something. Incidentally, I did know that about beaver, but only because my Norweigan neighbor educated me. He was an amazing source of information, just as you are! Thank you for the wonderful entry I love, love, love this place. What an amazing blue whale! Thank you!~

Of course, you dropped your link, yes? ❤️ Love you!

#MarketFriday began as a way to reach out across the globe and learn about different cultures through their markets, especially local markets and farmers' markets, and eventually branched out and evolved over time from straight shopping to a cultural affair as it highlights how we differ and then again, how much we are alike. We have become a melting pot of culture, but it is still the Rituals, Festivals, food, architecture, and even your language/languages that separate us... Along with the fact that these things are normal for us. There are unwritten rules that rule our social behaviors. I see this as allowing for increased tolerance between cultures and nations, and opportunities to come together on an even playing ground. A strong culture can be beneficial to a country as it promotes unity, especially during a crisis, peaceful debate, and open dialogue. I have learned so much about all of you and it has been an amazing experience. I can only hope that learning about each other can help us work together for a peaceful world.

Thank you for being a part of #MarketFriday

Stuffed has-beens ... haha ... that is funny. You are very complimenting and make me feel amazing. I was remiss however. I forgot to drop my link. I finished this up late last night and the whole busy mommy thing. On my way now.

Just razzing you. I get it! XO

Plus, you are always amazing and quite fun. ❤️

I stopped by and offered as penance a Beaty extra:)

You are the best! ❤️

Always glad to see your photography its very great and impressive. A toothache is very painful, whether it is a human or an animal, it should be treated immediately.

I think you misread the blog

I will read it again