Blue-banded Butterfly no Swallowtail

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Hypolimnas_alimena_by_Quoll_Pengo_Peter_Halasz_DSC_7961.jpg

Photo by @quoll.

This image is the prompt for the Kudos Short Poem Competition. More details at the end of this post.

I went to the zoo to look at the snakes. Yes, it's another today-I-went-to-the zoo post.

I'm writing a novel that involves a lot of snakes, including a main character with a snakes for hair. So I went to the zoo to see the snakes. Research, you know. There are many amazing snakes in beautiful enclosures — pythons, vipers, and colubrids — but I'll leave those for another post, because I couldn't leave without stopping by the butterfly house, where I snapped this photo.

Sometimes when I photograph an animal, I get a shot of the sign too so I can be sure to know what species they are. The scientific name means you'll always be able to find more about it later. But I didn't take any sign-photos at the butterfly house.

So I thought I'd try out Google to see what it would come up with. Machine learning has really taken off in recent years, and Google are at the heart of it with projects such as Alpha Go, TensorFlow, Waymo, and Google Assistant. So how close could Google come to picking the butterfly species?

butterfly_google_guess.png

Not so close. It's pretty different to the purple emperor (Apatura iris), and it's not even from Eurasia. But here's a marvelous photo of one for comparison by Flickr photographer berniedup via Wiki Commons (cc-by-sa-2.0):

Purple_Emperor_Apatura_iris_male_by_Flickr_user_ berniedup_cc-by-sa-2.0.jpg

Some googling for blue butterflies and the Melbourne zoo butterfly house made me briefly think it was a Ulysses Swallowtail (Papilio ulysses), as that's all that seemed to come up. But I eventually noticed it totally wasn't — it has no swallow's tail for one.

Ulysses Swallowtail by Lepidlizard for comparison: (public domain)

Papilio_ulysses_at_Kuranda_Butterfly_Sanctuary_released_into_public_domain_by_photographer_Wikipedia_user_Lepidlizard.jpg

So I asked on Reddit's /r/whatsthisbug. What's this bug? Well, let's face it, butterflies might be pretty, and although they're not true bugs, they're still insects—daytime moths if you will, so "what's this bug" seems perfectly suitable to me.

And within ten minutes of posting I had a reply with the exact species: It's a Blue-banded Eggfly, Hypolimnas alimena, a butterfly associated with rainforests, usually further north in Australia than the butterfly house where it was living.

Here's a close up:

Hypolimnas_alimena_detail_by_Quoll_Pengo_Peter_Halasz_DSC_7961.jpg

NIKON D800 f/9 1/200s 105mm

UP4CC: If the payout for this post reaches $5 I will upload the photograph to Wiki Commons with a creative commons license, for anyone to use for any purpose.

Kudos Poetry Competition

kudos_poetry_banner

My friends @damianjayclay and @nikisteem have selected this image for their first Kudos Poetry Competition prompt. I haven't said much about the fragility, contrast, beauty, fleetingness or any other abstract things about this image, because I'm leaving it up to your imagination to write something for the the 50-word Kudos Poetry Competition. Good luck!

Sort:  

It's such a beautiful shot and we're proud to have it as our first prompt. I didn't know about the whatsthisbug on Reddit. Something I'll probably make use of in the future.

Congratulations, Your post has been resteemed for free by @resteemnowph.

Follow us at https://steemit.com/@resteemnowph or https://steemitstage.com/@resteemnowph
We are just starting. Thank you so much for the support.

@quoll thank you so much for your beautiful photo. @damianjayclay and I are very happy and proud to have it as our first photo prompt for our competition. We hope more people will be able to share their thoughts on your photo through their poetry. Good Luck and I am looking forwards to judging next week when the contest it over:)
Also thanks for sharing about Reddit’s /r/whatshisbug . I’m definitely going to check that out !