Spotlight on Ireland! #9 Wind Turbine Adventure & the Hornless Unicorn, West Cork, Ireland

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

There is nothing like getting out and about in the country on a Sunday especially in West Cork Ireland

whiteHorse2.jpg
The Hornless Unicorn

The Idea


Every morning I wake up go the kitchen and put the kettle on for my morning cup of coffee.

And everyday I look out the window and see beautiful Irish country side with many fields and hills in the distance.
On these hills all around the area I live are wind farms or wind turbines (I am not sure what the actual name for them is)

orangeTurbines.jpg
Wind Farm

So I figure they have been erected by men so there must be roads going up to them and I have wanted to make a video of them for a while now.

This Sunday just past (I bought a new camera) so I decided right I am gonna head out and drive to one of these sets of turbines and film them.

The Adventure


So I set out in my car and started to drive in the direction of the nearest wind farm.

The first problem I encountered was that roads dont always go in the direction you like so I would drive along a road in the direction of a set of turbines then suddenly the road would turn and I would be driving a few miles in the wrong direction.

Now this wasn't so much of a problem as there are so many in my area that no matter what way I would go it wouldn't be long before there were a set in front of me again so then they would become my new focus point.

purpleSkysmall.jpg
Purple Sky

The next problem I encountered was that although I would get real close to them there didn't seem to be any roads leading to them every time I saw one that looked like it could be one it ended up leading into someones property. So no matter how hard I tried I couldn't find a way to drive to them.

Again this isn't a problem because I could always get out of the car and walk to them.
But on this occasion the daylight was getting the better of me and I decided to capitalize on the evening sky and capture some stills instead which are featured in this blog

turbineIlight.jpg
The Shining Light

The Perfect Spot


I managed to find a perfect spot on top of hill that was situated right in between two of these wind farms so managed to get shots in two different directions which enabled me to get the different sky backdrops seen in the images.

I also had the pleasure of being greeted by a beast of legends (The White Horse) or as I like to call him (The Hornless Unicorn)

whiteHorseEDITED.jpg
The White Horse

Why no Video?


So why did I not shot some video, well unfortunately my brand new camera has a defect which did not show up till I came to edit the footage together which made all the video footage unusable, but that is a story for another blog.
And I am so glad I decided to take stills as usually I wouldn't (fate)

Here is one more still instead

loneTurbine.jpg
The Lone Turbine

This is also my first time ever trying photography with a DSLR (with some post editing on Photoshop) so please let me know what you think!

Sort:  

your clicks and focus are best work more.

these are your first shots? Wow! They are very nice! :) Did you use any postediting?

yeah I should have said, in fact I will add it in. First time shooting stills on DSLR and first time ever trying to edit a photo :) (YouTube tutorial) and my own adjustments (to taste) on Photoshop, did try lightroom but just a bit to much for me to take in at this stage lol. Thanks

I find photoshop much more versatile and fun than lightroom. Maybe it is a bit ore tricky to get used to but once you do then it is just a pleasure of experimenting! :) Good luck with future work! :)

That Hornless Unicorn is too damn cute..! 🤗

and also the Depth of Field is quite good..! 📷
Cheers buddy, happy clicking..! 📷
~Tennis Girl 🎾🎾

Thank you tennis girl 😁

beautiful clicks keep shooting with your new cam .....new on steemit i am also a photoghapher plz support if you like my posts .... thank you in advance

unfortunately the camera is faulty as you can see in the second pic about a cm down a black line running all the way across the image it is on every pic and appears worse in video