You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should we be taking photos in a museum?

in #photography6 years ago

I think it depends on what the photographer is trying to achieve. If just a record shot, then no problem. In my own circle of photographers (a camera club where creativity is encouraged) it is generally seen as showing another persons art, unless the photographer has shown some creative input of their own. An example of that may be introducing an extra element or two that has a connection to the art piece being photographed.

Sort:  

I agree, if the photographer has a creative approach to show someone else their artwork, I think that should indeed be encouraged? However, the majority of people visiting a museum cannot really be called a photographer nor are they taking creative shots. They shoot images like those included in this post and I don't really see a purpose for that. But probably it can all be related to the changing society, where the phone (and also camera) have become an everyday object for nearly everybody.

I think the purpose is for a record shot.