Flying over San Francisco in a Cessna 172 - My Mom Was the Pilot!

Recently I had a fantastic opportunity to join my mom on one of her flight lessons as she works toward her private pilot's license, and so I invited a friend along for an incredible Bay Tour over the San Francisco Bay Area. It was a gorgeous, clear day in spite of the usual fog and was an unforgettable way to see my hometown from over 1,000 feet in the air.

My Awesome San Francisco Aerial Bay Tour!

The pilot: My mom flying the Cessna 172!


Chevron Refinery, Richmond, CA

View of Lake Merritt, Oakland, CA


The iconic Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco, CA


Bay Bridge, San Francisco, CA


Urban geometry, San Francisco, CA


Gorgeous rolling hills of Marin Headlands, Marin County, CA


All in all it was an incredible day, and I can't wait until my mom gets her pilot's license so we can take day trips all over California and beyond.

Thanks for reading and stay tuned for an upcoming post on the de Young Museum in San Francisco!

Sort:  

Awesome views! Lake Merritt looks kind of like a man with a rather large nose, silly hairdo, and scarf blowing in the wind. just saying. Your mom's pretty cool

Haha I never looked at Lake Merritt that way!

:) Haha when are those psychedelics gonna start kickin in?

Maybe they already have. ;) I'll do a post on something psychedelic-related soon though.

Hopefully you're tripping hard enough to follow me back lol

This post received a 31% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @runaway-psyche! For more information, click here!

really gorgeous pics, love the cool angles of the cityscapes and the mountainsides!

I wish my 'ole buddy @jricco (super-secret subliminal shoutout and "nudge nudge") would also start posting some of his great learjet flight pics on STEEMIT as well! lol

Thank you, and I'd sure love to see flight pics from your friend! Gotta keep nudging him, haha.

Wow those are awesome shots!

Thank you!! We really got lucky that it was such a clear day, typically the fog is impenetrable.

Yes it is amazing how clear it is.

Your Mom is a trooper! Nice photos. Glad that you were able to experience this with her!

Thanks for reading, and she sure is. It's a little unnerving watching her flying a small plane but I support her in fulfilling her dream.

The feeling when you are flying an aircraft is something that can't be expressed in words...I have also done around 32 hrs of flying on Cessna 152-A...these flying birds might look tiny but are definitely mean machines...happy landings to your mom :)

Absolutely. Are you working toward your license?

I've student pilot license...because of personal reason couldn't complete entire course...still miss those flying days...but I have plans to pursue flying as a hobby

Ahhh, I hope you'll be able to get back in the cockpit soon.

thanks :)

Hey this looks like such a cool flight. I'll follow you, also. :)
Find me on steemit chat!
Best,
@velimir

Thanks for reading! I followed you as well - I have family in Croatia so I look forward to reading your content.

Awesome! Thank you.
:)

I don't think I have ever seen the bridge from that angle before and clear! Thanks for sharing.

I totally envy you! :)

Hehe it really was pretty awesome. :P

Wow, @runaway-psyche!! What stunning photography. I don't know which is the better seat you ...or your mother😊.

Nice! Love it. Well lived :D

Congratulations @runaway-psyche! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Such cool pictures and how amazing to have a pilot mom. :)

Hi! Have you heard about @krwhale? It is similiar with @randowhale. For your information please click on.