You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SH-BOOM! Being a Tourist in ones own Town - Vintage Feelings

in #photography5 years ago

Lovely, lovely, lovely trip to the past! I got so excited looking at the amazing pictures and your enthusiasm kept me reading and reading 'til the very end of it. Too bad such places are dying, I sometimes wonder whether my kids in 20 or 30 years from now will see any physical "evidence" of retro eras...One must never forget humanity's timeline goes a lot deeper in the past.

By the way, yoir hair is really cute that way, you look like you're ready to swing!

It was a pleasure reading this Erika!
Lots of love from burning hot Greece! 🤗

Sort:  

Oh, I'm so glad you came to see me! Thank you. I would love to go swing dancing with my man, but unfortunately we do not have this passion of dancing in common.

Yes, it's a bit of a pity that the owner-operated companies are becoming fewer and fewer. They have something special that no franchise can really fulfill. There is a second hand shop that is really so charming and skillfully run by a woman who not only has a good and aesthetic eye, but is also very enterprising and knows what her customers like. With the many things that people have in their homes, of course a lot is bought and sold among each other, but that's not the same as visiting a physical place that's meant to be a shop to browse and buy, not just a necessity.

HaHa! Also our time will one day be retro. I remember that my sister, who is older than me, never understood my enthusiasm for the 70s. For me it was retro, for her it was the fashion of her own time. She wouldn't want to go back there, just as I find the fashion of the 80s and 90s simply terrible. Probably because, firstly, I don't fit into such things anymore and one doesn't like to drink cold coffee.

Here the weather changed from burning hot to chilling cold. Weird. ...

Greetings to you!