Winning in an Unexpected Photography Contest

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Introduction

Hello Guys! Raymund Bumagat here, what's up?

Happy TGIF to you guys! How's you week?

Me?

Well, This Monday I applied to my dream company, I came there at exactly 10:45am and I left around 7:45pm. Quite long right? There are many applicants that day and Luckily, I passed the initial assessment.

I came back there yesterday ( Thursday ) for my scheduled HR Interview. I was scheduled at 11am and was moved to 3pm interview instead.

I am very nervous that day because this is already my 3rd time applying here and I don't wanted to waste the opportunity this time.

I already know some people who have passed and was offered a Job already right after the initial interview. But most are not.

Right before my interview, some applicants who was offered a Job already gave me some tips wherein there's a higher possibility that they will also offer me a Job especially If I really know the background of the company when the HR asked "What do you know about this company?". I waited and composed my own answer.

When my name was called my nervousness tripled and I prayed so many times for God to guide me with this. I entered the room and the interviewer was a female and looks very friendly.

The interview went well, I was able to say that I really wanted to work there, it is my dream company and why I am applying for the position I chose. But she still offered me a Helpdesk position and I said that I really want to be a programmer as that's the main reason why I left my previous Job anyway.

Even though the Interview went well ( thank you so much God for guiding me again ), it is not what I expected. First, she offered me a position that is the same with my previous Job and she didn't even asked me what I know about the company.

She said that I should keep my lines open and wait for 1 to 2 weeks for the result. After the interview I felt really sad, I know that I am prepared but it seems that my previous working experience is not leaving me. I don't want to waste this time or else I will wait for another 6 months to re apply.

I felt sad because I know that there are people who have already been offered a Job. But I know some few as well that didn't went to JO the same day and I really hope that I will be called and will be offered a Job soon. I waited for so long, prayed so hard and tried my best to pass everything. I just wanted to work with a company that will provide training for me to enhance my skills more.


I won a contest

Anyways, thank you so much if you reached this part of my blog. Today, I wanted to share you a moment wherein I won a contest that I didn't even expect that I joined a contest.

HAHAHA funny right?

Let me tell you the story,

Last February 10 this year, I uploaded a picture on my Instagram. It is an architectural shot that I took from one of the Hotel in Mandaluyong. I looked up and I saw this so I immediately took a picture of it. ( If you haven't seen yet, I created a blog about The Art of Looking Up ).

DSCF4082DSCF4082.jpg

Maybe some of you already know, we photography hobbyist usually use hashtags of featuring account that is under our niche to get a chance to be featured and gain some exposure.

I used the tag "#wethepvblic" on my IG post as I saw that one of my friend is using it.

The next day I was surprised because I was featured on their Instagram and the caption says "Congrats @rymndbmgt for winning a @skoopkommunity shirt! The team will get in touch with you this week on how to get your prize. We will be choosing 10 winners from the wethepvblic hashtag. Keep it up fam!".

I honestly don't know that there was an on going contest on this page and I am really happy that I won.


Behind the Contest

The Local and Filipino based Clothing Line Skoop partnered with We the Pvblic to choose 10 lucky urban / street photographers that will capture stunning shots here in the Philippines and they will reward them a free T - shirt from SKOOP.

20180302_172412-2.jpg

The main goal of this collaboration is to reward local photographers with exposure and inspire others to up their Instagram game.

We the Pvblic actually created an article on their website.

If you will be able to see the winners, most of them are big and well known local photographers here in Philippines and I idolize them even before that I still do not own a real camera.

I really felt proud that time because I was rewarded together with my Idol and Inspiration photographers. Can you believe it? Me? Oh Come On! Am I Dreaming?

My photo was even chosen to be a header background for their article's thumbnail!


Conclusion

Now this story only represent on how we would support each other.

If your friend is a photographer, book them to shoot you or your other friends.
If you have an artist friend, go buy their paintings.
If your friends are in a band, go to their gigs or buy their shirts.
If you have a friend who's starting a business, go buy / promote their products.

In short, support your friends and their passion so they can provide something for their-selves and buy more stuffs to improve their art. Stop asking for free service if you really liked their art!


I am very happy that I am here in Steemit. Because we are being rewarded by people who appreciates us and we can also reward others in return as we support each other. I am really thankful that I am here.

Thank you!

That's it for me today guys! I hope that you liked it, I hope that you enjoy the story and was able to inspire you to support your friend's passion and also support your local artists.

rymndbmgt.png
So! Hit that up-vote button, follow me if you haven't yet, and see you guys in the next posts!

Sort:  

Dude this so inspiring, I have to share this one!

Dude thank you so much for your time reading and appreciating my posts. Just keep shooting!