Strange invasive red string plant

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This curious string like plant quickly takes over plant pots to the point where you can barely see what is meant to be growing there! I came across this in Spain.

DSCF2612.JPG.jpg

Sort:  

that is such an interesting looking plant, never seen anything like that

This occurred in my garden but I had noticed one or two wrapped up plants out in the hills by the roadside too. Such an odd plant.

it is indeed very odd but kind of cool as well

cool unless you are the plant getting choked underneath - it's the stuff nightmares are made of hahaha

well yeah that would not be so cool LOL

This post received a 3% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @sallybeth23! For more information, click here!

I never saw a plant like this before! Any idea of the name?

I wish I knew - It is a parasite plant but I can't get an exact match on google images so far.

Alien Spores :D

It is pretty alien like lol

This is dodder (Cuscuta).

The seeds are used in Chinese medicine, a potent medicine.

Oh thank you so much! This is great news. An even more interesting plant than I could have guessed. They actually smell out their prey!