So Many Castles, So Little Time - Castles in Scotland 2017

in #photography7 years ago

IMGP4685.JPG

During my recent visit to Scotland, I had the very distinct pleasure to photograph many castles, kirks, crosses and other buildings of interesting architecture. I will include a few images that really turned out well, in my opinion.

The first image is of Castle Sween, on the shores of Loch Sween, Knapdale, Scotland. And here is another view of Castle Sween.

IMGP4695.JPG

The rounded tower is called the Sween Tower after the Danish Prince Sween who is believed to have had this castle build in the 11th century. Making this one of the earliest stone castles built in Scotland, I have heard it said it is the 6th oldest, but I do not know that with any certainty.

The next castle will be recognised by more of you, this is the Edinburgh Castle, in Edinburgh, Scotland.

IMGP4855.JPG

This was taken the morning before we attended the Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo. Which is most see event each August. If you want to see the Tattoo, you must order your tickets early, they sellout fast.

Next, we have a cool shot of the Edinburgh Castle during the Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo of the Lone Piper, playing with the castle cloaked in blue light.

IMGP5260.JPG

I will finish with a couple photos from Dunnottar Castle, near Stonehaven, Aberbeenshire, Scotland. It took three journeys to Scotland before I was able to make a visit this wonderful marvel of old world engineering.

IMGP5883.JPG

Dunnottar Castle would have been a very difficult castle to attack as an invader - either by land or sea. There are no beaches and terrible rocks to rip out a ship's haul. The land route is no easier. Only one skinny finger of land joins the castle to the mainland.

IMGP5867.JPG

I will make another post in the near future. I would like to clarify this photos are here to share the beauty of Scotland and her castles. For those, who cannot resist copy these images, I only ask that you credit those images to me and have a link to the source - here on STEEMIT. Otherwise, uncredited copying will be viewed as infringing on the copyright.

V. Andrew

Sort:  

Very awesome place and shots sir!

Thank you. I would return in a heartbeat to capture more.

Hello Friends, How Are You
Thank You Your Friends are Glad To Meet You @
The Best and Amazing?
Nice To Fulfill You All #steemians
My name is lelek, Account name @lelek I Came From the National Liberation Front of Sumatra (ASNLF)
I Say Welcome And Happy To You Here #steemit or # eSteem.
Vote @ good-karma As Our Witness.
Do not Forget Follow Me Also @ekbuslumo
I would like to say thank you.

@lelek how exactly does your post contribute to this thread?? In my opinion it does not. Please keep your political agenda and spamming somewhere else.