Twenty years ago in New York - playing jazz.

in #photography7 years ago

Jazz drummer Michael Schwarz, NYC in 1997

"As time goes by..."

Wow! I recently found this old photo of myself from 1997. It was taken on some East Village rooftop. I was a student at the New School NYC at that time. BfA in Jazz Performance. What a great time. Wonderful years. I stayed in Brooklyn, the East Village as well as midtown Manhattan. Most gigs were in Manhattan and my drumset was small enough for me to walk to the venue. At first I could afford bass, snare, hihat and ride. I played that setup for a year before I added a tom, a standtom and a second cymbal. Occasionaly with an extra crash on the right side. And that's my jazz setup until today:

Michaels jazz-drumset-1997

I played with so many great musicians during those years and I had wonderful and encouraging teachers. I loved these years and I will never forget them. Thank you universe!

Sort:  

Wow..would love to read your stories from your experience in music. I am a self taught bass player from Kathmandu.