May Island Ferry

in #photography6 years ago

Every dive is different and some that may seem mundane and uninteresting can turn out to be a fantastic place to create great imagery. Located in what is basically an island triangle the wreck of a small car ferry rests mostly submerged and easily accessible by divers of any skill level. This small wreck can be found just off the northside of May Island to the west of Quadra Island and north of Steep Island.

May Island Ferry-1.jpg

Known locally as the The May Island Ferry this is a unique dive and great opportunity to investigate a piece of West Coast history. The ferry originally worked a route between Quadra Island and several smaller islands around the area. It sunk the first time in poor weather conditions and was raised, repaired, and put back into service shortly after. It sank for the second time in bad weather and was again raised and anchored just off Quadra Island to sell for scrap. The ferry however, broke free of her anchor and sank at May Island. The ferry is 54 meters (180 ft.) in length and about 12 meters (40 ft.) wide.

May Island Ferry-3.jpg

The wreck is just below the water line and at low tide most of the bow and starboard side is out of the water. The ship sits in about 15 meters (50 ft.) of water on her port side. Over the years, the surge, wind, and storms have eaten away at her hull making for some unique areas within the ship. The large single prop is still attached and makes for a cool photo opportunity. The wreck is home to a wide variety of marine life: many species of sponge and tunicates have encrusted the hull and most of the wreck is covered with large Plumose Anemones. There are no real penetration points on the wreck.

May Island Ferry-2.jpg

If your in the area, this little wreck is worth the dive. Thanks for reading.

Scott

For more stories and images - http://www.scottstevensonphotography.ca/

Sort:  

Very cool the water looks so clear underneath

Amazing photography.... i appreciate this traveling.... upvote and resteemit

nice complement

extraordinary & exceptional!

Great photos and a great blog with excellent information.

nice complement

wow..amazing photography..i like this traveling..all the best...

I've never done any diving, the idea has always scared me a bit, but, i can't help but be fascinated by it. Thanks for sharing, i enjoyed reading about 'this little wreck' as you put it, and the photos are good as well. Following!

That looks amazing! I’m not a diver myself, in fact I’m quite afraid of water like this, but underwater photos are so intriguing it might be time to conquer that fear.

nice complement

I've been to Quadra Island. My sister went to a camp out there and we went with to drop her off. The ferry we took seemed small, but the May Island ferry sounds like it was even smaller. Beautiful country even above water out there.

wow some great photography this is amazing, love it.

I always find it so fascinating how it looks under water! Never from first hand experience though, haah.

Amazing images! I really like the story too. I love anything abandoned. I can’t swim, so I really, really appreciate seeing your work.

nice complement

Good post,

Wow awesome my friend, I liked your photos,
I hope someday to have the experience of diving, regards @scottdphoto

nice complement

That is interesting to hear about that The May Island Ferry, I think it was just a curse of the ferry, as it happened even after couple of time of repair. But I believe people who are diving may be hoping to find a treasure or...

Very cool! Wish my ears weren't so messed up. That looks like an amazing place to dive.

Nice friend

wow
nice dive. Amazing photo.

so amazing!

Wow! I would love to do that.

grt complement

im suprised they brought it up again after it sunk the second time lol

excelente! saludos. Ya te sigo.

nice friend

reciprocal subscription

I love how much I would like to go.
regards

This is really interesting! Amazing photography. Congrats