Strange and Unusual

in #photography6 years ago

Diving all over the world bring you in contact with some fascinating and exciting creatures. Some large, some small. In this particular case most of the creatures are tiny members of the ocean community known as jellyfish.

Drifting through the oceans on the tides, feeding on organisms to small for the human eye to see. Each one of these images are a different species of jellyfish and just show the diversity within this family.

Water Jelly-1.jpg
Water Jelly, you can see in side this tiny jelly is a small anemone that lives on the jelly. These to creatures have a symbiotic relationship and survive together as they float through the water.

Red eye Medusa-1.jpg
This is a Red-eye Medusa named for the circle of red dots around its bell. These are used to attract prey.

Tailed Jelly-1.jpg
Tailed Jellies can go to immense lengths, some up to 20 meters but are only as thick as a pencil. They attract prey with their orange light like structures along their bodies.

Sea Gooseberry-1.jpg
This winged wonder is called a Sea Gooseberry. These jellies seem to fly through the water by flapping their wing like appendages.

You never know what you going to see under the water, never under estimate the opportunity to capture something magical. Even the most mundane dive may produce some amazing results.

Thanks for reading and happy Friday everyone.

Scott

For more stories and images - http://www.scottstevensonphotography.ca/

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

I've never seen a tailed jelly before. Nice work!

Yes, diving is so amazing and you have taken really great shots, Im looking forward for more of your nice diving content @scottdphoto!

Man I love the ocean. Jellyfish, Octopi, and Squids are fascinating creatures to me. I am super curious, have you ever had anything react strangely to you? Besides curiosity or fear?I am so curious to how these beings react. Especially Octopi.

I have mostly seen curiosity and fear, but the fear isn't so much a real tangiable fear that we as humans may feel if we encounter a wild animal. Fish and most marine life have a personal space bubble, similar to humans and if you enter their space they will move or swim away. My encounters with sea lions is very unique in that they can see their own refection in a diving mask and then will react accordingly, maybe blowing bubbles or moving their heads back and forth. They are not self aware so they react similarly to other animals like bears when they encounter a mirror in a forest that may be there for scientific purposes.

That is so awesome! Thanks for sharing..

I'm really enjoying your underwater photography! What equipment do you use when you go on these adventures?

I shoot with a Canon 5d in an Aquatica housing and duel Ikelite strobes for lights. Most of the time I'm using regular scuba equipment but on occasion I will dive with a rebreather.

I'm looking to move beyond mobile photography and invest in a camera/equipment within the next year, so thank you for sharing! I've never been scuba diving, let alone done any underwater photography, but you have certainly given me inspiration.

Cnidaria is a very interesting group, it's amazing how diverse it really is even though is an old lineage and hasn't changed that much since their appearance on planet Earth.

Those pictures are amazing, that water jelly and red-eyed medusa are gorgeous! But the one that caught my attention was the tailed jellies pic, it's the first time I see a colony like this one.

A very nice post :) I'd like to contribute with it: jellyfishes aren't a family, technically. Most of them are part of different classes inside Cnidaria, which is a phylum or major taxonomic group where jellyfishes, anemones and corals are placed. Each class is composed by lower taxa (like families, genera, species, sub-spicies...) and basically, it's a classification staircase :)

I hope it helps a little! Have a very nice weekend <3

Awesome! Thanks for the info and sharing your knowledge. I really appreciate it.

Very cool pictures. Definitely going to look up more about these jellyfish. I never knew some of them could grow up to 20 meters...

Thank You @scottdphoto for the research on the aquatic life above. The shots of these creatures are indeed the best I have yet seen anywhere.

It has actually come to our attention through this Steemit platform that there is more to sea than actually meets the eye.

fascinating! Great shots!

that' awesome, I've never seen a sea gooseberry before, cool. I love to watch them at the aquarium or when I see them in the wild.

I have mixed feelings with jellyfish. On the one hand, I'm scared of them, maybe even a little disgusted, but on the other hand they look like beautiful, even elegant creatures. Thank you for sharing

Good creativity ... i like it generally..
jellyfish style photography that is....
carry on

WOW that's stunning.

knowledge ..wow

Wow..... very nice looking your jellyfish , personally i like it . i want your next photography sharing us. carry on your life my friend , all the best

Your underwater photos are always amazing.

Wow nice!
Wundervoll!
I had to look twice can’t believe
The light work is really great!!!
Lovely pics!
Respect

Wow awesome sea gooseberry was beautiful

Those are some amazing photos! A 20 metre Tailed Jelly, wow, hopefully they're very deep in the ocean :) The background of those photos are so dark, you must be quite deep down, or that is a night dive I guess.

What an adventure diving must be!

Thanks for sharing @scottdphoto :)

Wonderful micro sea creatures. Nice pics

Amazing creatures and photo

I was about to sleep before I saw this post. Your photography skills are truly impeccable and i feel that as i lay on my bed to surrender to slumber, ill dream about me being an expert diver, unraveling the mysteries of the under world

i love the jellyfish in the first picture (Blueish).
and thanks for the amazing info author

Really cool creatures ! Wondering what other er will see in the future ! Great post thx

These photos are truly beautiful. I used to love the jellyfish enclosure at the museum of natural history. They were lit under black light and looked incredible!

nice and hypnotic jelly fish. still a new and unexplored world in the water :)

beatiful animals, perfects shots!! i loved, great work!!

These are fascinating!

Wow man amazing work, just started following !

There are a still more creatures in aquatic that are yet to be discovered, this is beautiful.

Wow how cool. I've never had the pleasure of seeing a jellyfish in person! Great shots

TGIF nice awesome post

these are really cool images.

The view is perfect

Amazing creatures, I have a soft sport for them too, a jellyfish saved my life once. I was really drunk in Nicaragua and decided to go for a swim..and I fell asleep at 2am floating in the ocean. I woke up when a jellyfish stung me, and I was almost a mile from shore. If I had slept much longer I might have drifted out of the little bay, and not been able to see the lights from shore to know which way to swim... It was a long, scary swim back to shore in the dark too lol Glad to say I don't drink alcohol anymore lol

Always wanted to go into underwater photography. Super amazing post!

excellent blog
giphy (3).gif

Miraculous life in the oceans. Thank you for the nice insight into the hidden underwater world.

gorgeous, friend!!

Wonderful nature!!! Thanks for sharing!!

These are sick! Such great detail, nice job mate!

So stunning photos, congrats !!! It’s funny how some of them look like nebula... from the deep of ocean to the space :)

Like your article. What a fantastic world you shot. Wonderfull creatures. Rock on!

Congratulations @scottdphoto, this post is the sixth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 1358 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $13848.53. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Some pretty amazing shot of ocean photography, I always find these creatures intriguing and mysterious, so simple yet so elegant

Hey man, I am always looking for good photography in steemit, don't know how I have missed your underwater stuff. It is fascinaiting, well done. I myself take pictures as well, but above the water. I know about the challenges that underwater photography brings with itself. So respect, glad I found you, followed now.

Amazing photos!! Almost look like creatures from outer space!

There are 2 pages
Pages