Came Across a Rattlesnake Yesterday

in #photography7 years ago

I decided to go for a quick hike the other day. The sun was shining and I needed to get out of the house for a few hours. I drove out to my nearest state park and went for a hike. 


I had my headphones on and was listening to some heave metal music and trying to get a sweat on. I wasn't really paying attention to anything and my mind was racing with thoughts I had going on in my life. 

Then all of a sudden I put my foot down and saw it a few inches from me. A rattlesnake across the hiking trail. I jumped up and and let out a loud "FUCK!". The thing scared the shit out of me. I took my headphones out and heard the shaking of its rattle. 

If you've never heard a rattlesnake rattle, they sound almost fake as if they are coming from a soundboard. This guy had a pretty small rattle so the sound was tame.

I took out my phone and snapped a picture. After a few minutes he snaked off the trail and into the brush. I carefully walked past him and continued on the hike.