Bernard Peak Wildfire

Last Friday, before our area was filled with smoke from wildfires in California, Oregon, and Washington, my husband and I drove to Farragut State Park to look across the bay at the Bernard Peak fire. The fire started on Monday, Sept, 7th, so had been burning four days already when we went to view it.


20200911_164610_7.jpg

Based on the amount of smoke, there must have been more forest burning on the other side of the mountain, where we couldn't see it.


20200911_172524_10.jpg

I tried hard to get a decent picture of the helicopter that was scooping water from Lake Pend Oreille and dumping it onto the fire. Although the helicopter is difficult to see, the stream of water from the big bucket is visible, rather like a waterfall coming out of the smoke.


20200911_171120_9.jpg

Looking in the other direction, we could see the rather bare mountainside where a fire burned down most of the trees a few years ago, close to the little town of Bayview.


20200911_170112_8.jpg

When my grandpuppy became restless, I took him for a short walk on a path through the woods. I like looking out at the lake through the tall evergreen trees.

All photos taken on my Android phone.

Sort:  

Quite the difference a week makes between your adventure and mine.

I was thinking similar thoughts. I don't suppose you could even see across the lake to that fire.