Western Montana Scenes and Stories

My annual fall getaway to my sister's house is happening now! I always enjoy my time with her, but this year the break is exceptionally welcome, due to the level of craziness that has prevailed at my house for the past several months.


20201005_145428_13.jpg

The scenic viewpoint just south of Ronan never disappoints me. I don't see a speck of snow on those Mission Mountains right now, yet they are as majestic as ever. Nostalgia always strikes me when I see them and the pleasant memories flood back from my high school years in this area.


20201006_123603_15.jpg

My brother-in-law wanted to explore some roads where he hadn't been before, so we went on a day trip to Bigfork and Echo Lake. Bigfork is located on Flathead Lake, and around a small inlet of that lake, which is pictured above.


20201006_124043_16.jpg

Bigfork is a tourist-oriented little town, and the downtown area features quaint shops, restaurants, bars, a Summer Theater (well-known in this part of the state), and overpriced ice cream. I'm not sure of the significance of this sculpture, but it is typical of towns in the west, especially those catering to tourists. But the best place in town was a thrift store out along the highway. I could spend hours browsing in there.


20201006_135300_17.jpg

Echo Lake is a few miles out of town, nestled in the woods and largely surrounded by homes, many of them quite fancy. It looked like a fun lake to explore with a canoe; we saw lots of little inlets and bays, and may even a tiny island or two. The Swan Range looms in the background.


IMG_0796_1.JPG

We also walked a short distance, perhaps half a mile, along the Bigfork Nature Trail, which follows the old River Road beside the Swan River. I took this photo looking back downstream.


IMG_0797_2.JPG

I wish you could hear the gurgling of the small rapids in the ravine below! It was such a soothing sound.


IMG_0798_3.JPG

Splashes of autumn colors were to be found along the trail.


IMG_0799_4.JPG

The view upstream beckoned me onward, but my sister was tired so we walked back to the car.


IMG_0803_5.JPG

Adjacent to the parking area was this little free library. I have run across these in other places, and think it's a great idea.

We finished the day with a Rosa's Combo at Rosa's Pizza. It was excellent, and I heartily recommend the place if you are ever in Bigfork, Montana.

All photos taken on my Android phone or my aging Canon PowerShot A560, which refuses to save the date and time. Every time I turn it on, it wants me to reset it. If I don't, it says I took the pictures in 1980. Anybody know how to fix that?