Holidays in the Allgäu - Day 2, Easy hike along the old trade road between Oberstdorf and Riezlern

in #photography7 years ago

Greetings Steemians!

At the second day of our holidays in the Allgäu (see my previous post ->here<-) we felt ready to undertake our first little hike.

As a warm-up we decided to walk along the old trade road that connects Oberstdorf with the villages in the Kleinwalsertal. In old times, merchants from Oberstdorf delivered crop and salt to the markets in the Kleinwalsertal and picked-up cheese and lard in exchange. Meanwhile, the old travel road became a popular hicking track with many wonderful viewpoints over the valley.


The track starts with a view across the valley with the Hoher Ifen, landmark mountain of the Kleinwalsertal in the center back.


The sharp slope east of the summit gives the Hoher Ifen its distinctive shape.


The hilly ground allows for peculiar viewing angles (without the need of lying flat on the soil).


Allgäu cattle in its summer residence...


...saluting us! :-)


At the foot of the Hoher Ifen stone age dwellings have been discovered around 20 years ago.


At the end of the trade road a reference view on how the Allgäu looks like. It doesn´t get more typical than shown here :-)

Thanks for watching and have a great day on Steemit!

Shaka


Follow me @shaka


Always 100% power-up


Sort:  

Again these are excellent shots. I especially like the cross standing on the ridge of the Hoher Ifen. They're also very well edited, do you use Lightroom?

Thank you very much! I have a few more in the queue :) Yes, I use LR for all my editing, which mainly is cropping and tonal correction. In this case I have to admit though that I pushed clarity quite a bit. Probably to extreme for prints but I like it as it comes out on a display.

Increased clarity works well for textured elements such as trees or mountains. I rarely use global clarity adjustments as they can have undesired effects when used on an entire image. I think you've used it well in these photos though.

Below I've included an example of how I'd use selective clarity, dehaze and saturation adjustments to give more texture to the mountains. The adjustment brush can help give that final touch to your images : )

Sorry for editing your image without asking, but I thought you might find this interesting. Cheers for now : )

Mountain-3.gif

Wow, great effect. Thanks for the demonstration. Is this selective editing possible in LR? If so, I will definitely try this out.

Yes it's all done in Lightroom. I'll be posting a landscape article in a few hours that will briefly cover this, you may be interested. I may also be doing tutorial videos in the future. If there's anything in particular you'd like me to cover, or any question you'd like to ask, please let me know. : )

Awesome, I will be on the look out to not miss it. I'll put any further comments and questions there.

Great shots!

I don't think a cow has ever saluted me 8-).

Was the first time for me, too :-D

(Could be something for a meme I guess...)

Cheers!

All I got is a cow picking its nose. It's just not fair! 8-)

Wow, the saluting cattle is hilarious :-))

Indeed, I´m lucky that I could capture that moment :)

Wow!, that is a really beautiful place!, so i guess this is where Heidi lives right?

Haha, wonderful! Well, Heidi would be more towards the Swiss Alps, but the scenery is quite similar :-) Thanks for checking my blog!

Sehr schöne Bilder. Die Region ist wunderschön. Pin ich bei mir ans Brett.

Dankeschön! Ja, ist herrlich dort!

Sehr gerne @shaka :-)

Yeh that's what i'm talking about! These are some of your best. Welcome back @shaka

Thanks for your encouraging comment @runrudy!

Np! Be well.

The Bavarian Alps are truly beautiful. As a Brit, my favourite place has to be Mount Wank however!

Very true, the Alps around Garmisch-Partenkirchen are beautiful too. Thanks for checking out my blog!

Amazing shots and incredible holidays!

Thanks!

Wow, these are great photos, looks like a beautiful place :)

Thanks, glad you like these shots. I´m sure you would find great motifs there for your paintings. Thanks for stopping by!

wie gemalt die pics... nice!

Danke! :-)

This looks like a place I would love to go :) And a cow saluting, I mean, that's just awesome haha. Great shot! Checked your profile out and you've got a new follower :) Have a nice day and remember.. GoCoconuts 😉

Thanks for stopping by. Yes, the saluting cow was def a highlight that day :-)
Cheers!

Wow! Speechless
Really felt like I was there with you, you really captured the moment :)

Thank you so much! See you at the Steemfest in Lisboa :-)

Looks lovely, thanks for sharing your pics :-)

Thanks, you´re welcome!

The photos look amazing. I am sure this place is very beautiful!

Thank you!

Very nice pictures -That sounds like a nice trip. Upvote and follow you got from me.

A Traum würd i sagn :-)

Ja, ´s isch wirklich sche gwä :) (i bin a schwob, woisch) :D

goood, I like photos ..
Beautiful nature.. the beauty of nature created by God Almighty so we always take benefit from the creature .. because everything he created is not in vain or just coincidence .. behind it all there is a lesson for people who want to think ..
Thank you very much ..

Thank you!

Thank you again sir @ shaka continue to work and hope we triumph in steemit

Those pictures were well taken but the message it send out is even more vivid to me. With such a piece of Heaven on Earth, why are we still hustling over everyday in our cities life ... living in the concrete jungle ... it is a really powerful piece ... for the mind and the soul! I followed you humbly and upvote. Peace.

Thanks for your comment. It´s a wonderful nature there, indeed. And I would certainly wish to be able spending more time there :-)

WoW.. Simply amazing... Which camera do yo have ? The pictures are sooo beautiful... I am a subscriber now for sure :) looking forward to more of your posts.. :)

Thank you @raj.mikesh. All photos were shot with a Canon EOS 7D equipped with a Tamron 18mm-270mm zoom lens. Glad you like the results. Cheers!

What a place it is really amazing

Thanks!

Thanks again for you .......... continue to work in steemit

Hi, this is wonderfull, it looks like a dream of HeidiLand

Das sind super schöne Bilder!! Nice

Danke Dir :)

Once again I say that indeed this photo is very beautiful, describes the atmosphere is so cool and peaceful

Beautiful pictures.
I've Upvoted and followed for sure.
I am gonna resteem your great post right now!
looking forward to your next post.
You can follow my food blog to know more about me @fatkid

Great snaps! Thanks for sharing.

very well photography

Beatiful pictures. I hope you replied the salute ;-)

great photos!

:) beautiful cow pics :)

It looks so beautiful there

Against the backdrop of the mountains they are beautiful :)

hy @shaka , thats a wonderful location i've been see...

Loving the whole post, thanks for sharing @shaka!

Is there a way I can convince you to resteem my post 😄 as I clicked the beautiful landscape and I feel it's worth sharing with more audience..... I hope u can help me out with it 😊

I don't like mountains much, prefer the sea, but they are beautiful pictures.