Some rare Trichocereus

Here's a few pictures of some psychedelic cactus from my garden.

The first one is about 18 feet tall and it's a Trichocereus KK339. It was one of the first cactus I ever aquired.
kk339.JPG


These ones have just been rooted and they are Trichocereus (Echinpopsis) hybrids
trico's.JPG

The taller plants in this group really need to have the tops cut off before being planted in the ground. If I leave them how they are now chances are they'll be too weak to support their own weight when they get a bit bigger.

Sort:  

Thanks to all my followers!

I really appreciate your support.

At least here I get paid to talk to myself.

Excellent info. Thanks! I have a tall skinny cactus in our window that I'm having to stake to keep it upright and it's now beginning to branch into two, making it even more top-heavy. I had no idea that trimming the top was an option. I have several window cacti and I really love them. We get so much rain here that there is no chance of keeping them outdoors so they seem a bit exotic.

Thanks for the reply.

Cactus can be like an exotic plant in some regions, in other places they're almost the only plants that will survive.

Oh and I would definitely love updates I am following you... I never grew cactuses!

Wow that's cool! Resteeming this. Nice shit!
Teach me about your cacti and my followers will love it nice work!

Blaze it!

Thanks for the upvote and the resteem gangafarmer!

I really appreciate it.

The cactus in these pics are all Tricocereus species and they are rich in alkaloids. The main alkaloid is mescaline. Some people extract the mescaline but these species have been used by South American shamans for centuries to induce a visionary state similar to LSD in some ways.

At low doses a cactus trip can be energising and uplifting but at higher dosages they can induce a very intense visionary state and can completely overwhelm your senses. A bit like when Homer Simpson ate the hot chillies and tripped out.

The plant medicines are very powerful and need to be treated with respect. A lot of people get into trouble by thinking it's just a plant and consume too much.

They are very easy to grow, you just chop a piece of an established plant & then let cut heal up and form a callus. Then you put them in the ground or a pot and they grow roots and become a new plant.

They are the perfect self replicating system.

Wow.... That's cool as shit. And love how you explained things! Very interesting maybe I need cacti!

We all need cacti!
;)

Trichocereus bridgesii

Are high in alkaloids and often contain a MAOI to kick things up a notch or three as well. All the plants in the second pic except the one at the back left are bridgesii or bridgesii hybrids. These typically have few spines but the spines they do have can be massive.

Trichocereus pachanoi

Is a bit milder (depending on dosage) & sometimes more enjoyable for someone new to the cactus experience. These are possibly the least hostile to handle as well because they only have short spines. There's one pictured at the back left in the second picture in the post above and the tall plant in the first pic is variety of pachanoi as well.

Trichocereus peruvianus

Can go either way, they can be very good or complete bunk depending on the particular specimen. They are heavily spined and quite hostile to handle.

Thanks for the interest man, I really appreciate it. I'm following you too.

Hostile to grow... Had the neighbors have a cactus fight. It didn't end well in the least.

Congratulations @shroedingerscat! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @shroedingerscat! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!