Introducion and few words about wedding photography

in #photography7 years ago

Hello :)
I am photographer from Croatia, a small country in Europe where sea touches mountains and over 1000 islands look like they've been thrown into sea from an airplane. Currently I am based here but work across Europe with plans of going even wider. Visiting different places with different people makes me rich, in spiritual meaning. Every human has a story and every place has something to tell us. We are those who will capture what we see and spread that "vibe" between viewers.
Recently I've discovered steemit and I can feel it's potential so I decided to join it to share what I've learned so far working as a photographer. More than half of my life I've been into photography but last 10 years are focused on weddings and couples. Through that time I had number of questions on which I hardly found written answers online and that is why I want to give my knowledge to those who want to learn things I've learned hard way. I will not do gear reviews or tell people how to make big money out of photography, my goal is to help people relax and have maximum satisfaction with their work. My work is documentary based and my blogs will be more focused on talking about moments, light, ambient, people....95% of informations will be about things that happend in front of camera and in head of the guy with the camera.
This is my first time I actually decided to do blogs so feedback from the community is very important to me and don't hesitate to include yourself in discussion. I am not the smartest or best and I don't know person who is. Everything is subjective and what is best for me won't be the best for lots of fellow photographers or ordinary observers wandering out there. Today most of the values are based on price tag yet there are so many things that can be free. I also will talk about things that worked out great for me and allowed me to do whatever I want with my photos while having clients that are happy with my work. As I reduced my paid marketing to 30% of the budget that i used to have, turned out that spending on ads brings you clients but not the circle of clients as organic reach does. Through time, as I keep posting photos and blogs, I will also make changes in my work which will also appear here as free knowledge created by experience. I think that out there are people who will find this useful.

_SIS5140.jpg

Why free when everything in the world costs more each day?

I've never paid for lessons or workshops about photography yet I've managed to become good and wanted photographer even with hard time in my life and lots of technical difficulties in business part of photography. I've had times that could easily become turning point in life which could push me away from working as a photographer and going for something more profitable. Except weddings, since 2002. I've worked for photography studios, design companies, real estate agencies, TV stations, newspapers, fashion shows, exhibiting and selling prints and bunch of other contractors...booked whatever I was offered because I wanted to know and feel everything, how it is done and specifics of its purposes, details of realization and so on. My goal was to find out which area and skills will feel natural to me. When something comes natural to us we do it with ease and that is exactly how I wanted to be a photographer and make for living of wedding photography. For me it was a long climb to what I can think of as "Top", and still is a climb because I put my personal goals always above hights which I can reach. That is something that keeps my mind always busy scripting a new chapter of my work and life. Everyone should have a plans for short and long periods with details. It took me alot of time thinking and planing and now I have the opportunity to contribute in learning community and shorten someone's time to reach specific goals. It is crucial that photographers educate clients and viewers about specifics of their work and photography itself. This kind of learning informations are hard to find online due to many platforms that push technical stuff, wedding glamour, material trends and fame in front. I think community lacks talks about empathy in photography, more emotional and philosophical points of view so I will share those thoughts here and time will tell me are there some people that will find this helpful. I consider this network great because you read only what you want to read, not the things that are pushed in your face so I hope people who will find this boring and irrelevant will not read it :)

_SIS9111.jpg

So to keep it simple...I am a regular guy, photographer, with ups and downs like most of the people, who tells stories with photos, about people in love. I've decided to share my experience and future plans in photography with everyone that are interested in that kind of informations. I will talk about photography, emotions, moments, love, philosophy, psychology and I hope I can trigger quality discussions in the community. I will post only photos that are taken by me, write why I like it and where I see its potential. Purpose of everything should be that people expand their thoughts about photography and start having more statisfaction with their work and how to tell clients what to expect. I'm not limited by working hours, numbers of delivered photos, book type or size...I do honest stories, every time different one, made with light, moments and emotions. I'm not center of gravity at the wedding or I want to be one, just unobtrusive observer with the camera.
I want to share my point of view with those who want to try the same, use specific detail for themselves or just read what i have to say. I've learned English mostly from reading and listening so sorry in advance for anything that is bad written...this is my first blog and feel free to tell me that I'm bad writer if you feel so :)

_DSC7035.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @siskop! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You are very talented!!! Keep it up and welcome on Steemit! Greetings from Austria!

Thank you very much! Appreciate it :)